Open2x Dr4


Farox

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,160
Age
52
Location
Italy
Website
rbnet.it
Fantastic news....thank's a lot Senor Quack !!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

senquack

I feel a great disturbance in the source
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
1,168
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
Visit site
On Saturday, I sent Orkie a preview, DR5. Dunno if he's gotten it yet, but it did have a small bug: I tar'd the o2xfs.tar.gz file incorrectly, using a user different than root, so modules don't load properly. All that is required to fix it is re-archiving it as root:root. Orkie should be able to fix that in a minute or two and have a preview release for all of you to check out. It has all of the aforementioned features working perfectly as far as I know.

The only feature missing is the USB Joystick->GP2X control daemon but I am happy to say it works, I finished up most of it last night. As far as I know, there was never a version of Temper released with USB joypad support. Well, I spent an hour or so last night playing Blazing Lazers and Bonk using one :) It is fully configurable for any joystick. If you have a joystick without enough buttons, you can just assign the most important ones. Doesn't cause any noticable performance hit that I can tell so far. Should be available for a 1.0 release later this month.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

paradroid

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
61
Age
49
Location
Trieste, Italy
Website
Visit site
Thank you for your great job Senor Quack.
I'm waiting for a stable release of open2x fw on my f200(B) :D
Gp2x is still alive.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

blinde

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
13
Hi.

Just installed, looks nice but I encounter one big issue.

On the screen, the image is sometimes shifted :(

During the fisrt launch of File Manager, the popup with "launching file manager" is usually shifted.
When I try to launch CPS2EMU, the games are always shifted
When I launch the game Snowed in 6, the image is always shifted...

Looks like if the frame buffer was shifted...

[attachmentid=363]

[attachmentid=364]



EDIT : Just tried with Compat, it now works fine... However a bit annoying...


Any idea ?

Thanks

Chris
 
Last edited by a moderator:

senquack

I feel a great disturbance in the source
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
1,168
Age
40
Location
USA
Website
Visit site
'blinde' said:
Any idea ?

Thanks

Chris
Is this old DR4 release from last year or the newer DR5 release (that I didn't even know was being handed out)

It looks like the 4 registers of the MMSP2 relating to the start and end of the framebuffer are being left unset or incorrectly set. I fixed a bug related to this in SDL recently so it is important for you to mention what version of Open2X this is.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
"Is this old DR4 release from last year or the newer DR5 release (that I didn't even know was being handed out)"

ooh ooh where where? :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

blinde

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
13
Senor Quack : the DR4. Just installed the whole package furnished at te beginning of the post.

No one in this (long) post seemed to complain about such an issue...

But great news if it is corrected in DR5 !

Chris
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2007
Messages
182
Age
41
Location
Paris France
Website
Visit site
I use open2x DR4 on my MKII unit,
I've notice a palette problem with "Wind And Water", it's one of my favorite puzzle game, did anyone notice that too ? and does DR5 will fix that ?

Thanks,
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Orkie

Super Duper Mega GP Mania
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
2,359
Location
UK
Website
www.gp2x.dev
When you first run it, you can choose MK1 or MK2 I believe. I think only the MK1 option works properly on Open2x.
 

blinde

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
13
Hi.

Just to know if a 1.0 release is about to come ?

The work done up to now is great and it would be sad not to have such a release !

Thanks

Chris
 
Top