Release MegaMan 8bit Deathmatch

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is MegaMan 8bit Deathmatch.
    [​IMG]


    https://www.youtube.com/embed/89rQz-DQLiU?feature=oembed
    And a video of the game play on the Pandora from ingoreis

    Note that you will need the ZDoom PND Build 09 or more for this to run (like with all "runtime" PND, you don't need to launch it, it just have to be present and will
    be automagicaly used).

    /!\ You'll need a swapfile to run this game, even with 512Mo model /!\

    There is a long pause when starting a level, when the game fill his cache with data...

    Tip: you can enlarge the font for message, as it is a bit small on the screen. Go in "DISPLAY OPTIONS", and select "MESSAGE OPTIONS" and "TEXT SCALING", then put a virtual size of 400x240 for larger font (or 320x200 for even larger). Don't forget to put "ENABLE TEXT SCALING" to "ON".

    History log
    ==========

    Build 04
    -----------

    • Updated to latest version
    Build 03
    -----------

    • Attempt to make it run on older firmware
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Refined launch script
    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
    Tags:
    Hồng Thất Công likes this.
  2. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
  3. DaMummy

    DaMummy Soldier Paste

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4,417
    Location:
    Ohio
    *raise a glass for out fallen comrade
     
    Nintendo, elwing and thatgui like this.
  4. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I ran around in the area you start in, but didn't really play.  It is pretty cool.  There were a couple of slow downs on my classic Pandora, but it may be playable on it.
     
  5. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,680
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Viva la Prometheus
     
  6. elwing

    elwing Rabbit Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,118
    not sure this has a sense anymore since we lost the boss of this game...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2014
    Nintendo likes this.
  7. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Can we use the left analog nub to move?
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Probably. I activated it as Joystick, so it should work. But I must say I didn't tried.

    *EDIT* I tried, but it doesn't detect the nubs. More debug needed...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2014
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I tested it on CC myself, as long as you make a swapfile of 512Mo, it runs pretty well. You need to make the mouse more sensitive than the default to play with the nub, as the A.I. is quite fast!
     
  10. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,343
    Location:
    Everywhere
    When I tested it I messed around with the control settings and thought I had at least the right nub working.  I can check again tonight.  I don't know if the second sentence above is related to this, however if it worked I kept my settings the same.  I may have made my nubs way more sensitive at some point in the past, because in my mind that would decrease wear on them.

    AS for the swapfile, I do have one, and it is larger than required.  My slow downs were when it was loading the level, I think, at whick point I thought it locked up or something, but since I saw the activity LED I waited and everything worked out.  I think there was another while running around, but it wasn't really anything too bad.  It was enough that it could get the player killed in a FPS, which was the only reason I commented.
     
  11. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I have updated the PND. It's a minor update, where I have just refined a bit the launch script (zdoom PND should unmount properly now).

    Note the to have Joystick support, you should update ZDoom PND to Build 11.

    Build 02

    -----------

    • Refined launch script
     
  12. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    New build for old firmware

    Build 03

    -----------

    • Attempt to make it run on older firmware
     
  13. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
  14. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Thanks for the video, I put it in 1st post and on repo.
     
  15. Inqui

    Inqui Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    NRW
    OMG I was thinking that this is Bomberman in ego-perspective o_O
     
  16. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    its realy a nice Game,only first start need to load a little long...

    ..everything other is perfectly ;)
     
  17. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,615
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
  18. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ah nice. I'll try to update the PND soon.
     
  19. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Updated build on the repo. Use it with latest ZDoom build for best result (but it's not mandatory).

    Build 04
    -----------

    • Updated to latest version
     
    el joker likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...