Mame4all V2.0 Released


EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,794
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Franxis released a new version of MAME4ALL for the gp2x as well as for the WIZ.

- GP2X WIZ version added:
+ Faster than the GP2X version.
+ It contains some specific features, such as horizontal scaling with linear filtering in 16 bit color mode.
Thanks to EvilDragon for sending me the development unit from GPH.
Thanks to Puck2099 for all the information and his Pico library.
Thanks to Orkie for all the help and his Castor library.
Thanks to Exophase for the MMU hack library.
Thanks to Pickle and KungPhoo for all the information about the sound.
Thanks to Rlyeh for the GP2X minimal library, taken as a base for the WIZ code.
Thanks to Zenzuke for the WIZ artwork.

- All source code files related to each of the drivers are compiled together to allow the compiler to improve the code location and to
have better cache usage. Some games run faster now.
- Fixed a bug in the auto-frameskip code. In some games the auto frame-skip was incremented without reason due to rounding
issues (99% - 100%).
- Double precision float is replaced by single precision in several parts of the code. Nice speed increase.
- Better compiler options. Everything is a little faster now.
- Several internal changes and source code clean-up. Smaller binaries.
- Hack in the CPU frequency clock in Mortal Kombat. Running a lot faster now.
- Hack in the M72 games sound (Hammerin' Harry, etc). Digitized sound disabled with the fast sound option.
Running a lot faster now.

- Slaanesh added support for some Argus games (MAME 0.37b11):
Argus (argus)
Butasan (Japan) (butasan)
Valtric (valtric)

Download: MAME4ALL v2.0 WIZ
Download: MAME4ALL v2.0 gp2x
Download: MAME4ALL v2.0 Sourcecode
Homepage: http://www.talfi.net/gp32_franxis/
 

djax

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
19
Location
Czech republic, Europe
I tested it on Wiz, but many games, which work on 1.6b5, do not work in 2.0 :-(. For example Kung Fu Master, Metal Slug 2, Mortal Kombat 3, Final Fight... And I think, that games, which are working, are a bit slower, than before.
 

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
46
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
djax posted on May 16 2009 at 11:01 PM said:
I tested it on Wiz, but many games, which work on 1.6b5, do not work in 2.0 :-(. For example Kung Fu Master, Metal Slug 2, Mortal Kombat 3, Final Fight... And I think, that games, which are working, are a bit slower, than before.
Try again <_<

Mortal Kombat 3 doesn't run nor 1.6b5 not 2.0.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

vEGA-rJ

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Messages
90
Location
Italy
djax posted on May 16 2009 at 11:01 PM said:
I tested it on Wiz, but many games, which work on 1.6b5, do not work in 2.0 :-(. For example Kung Fu Master, Metal Slug 2, Mortal Kombat 3, Final Fight... And I think, that games, which are working, are a bit slower, than before.
Are you sure you tested the right version?

In my tests this new version is more stable and faster than ever!

Keep it up the hard work Franxis, great work as usual! ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
46
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
Why the WIZ news are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the WIZ forum threads are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the Pandora forum threads ARE posted in the front page?
Why there are no news about the recent WIZ launch?

:angry: :angry: :angry:
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,794
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Franxis posted on May 17 2009 at 01:54 PM said:
Why the WIZ news are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the WIZ forum threads are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the Pandora forum threads ARE posted in the front page?
Why there are no news about the recent WIZ launch?

:angry: :angry: :angry:
No need to be angry, we discussed hat quite a few times at this board already.

It's simply because hando HASN'T SETUP that yet. He spent the last week to get this forum back to work, there's still a lot of work to do, but he needs the time to do it.
That includes a complete redesign of the frontpage.
The Pandora news area existed BEFORE the WIZ news area, back at that time he got the time to include it, he had a lot of work recently.
Also, I remember he was a bit angry about GPH as they never supported him (never sent him a gp2x, WIZ or any other sign of support, he got all of those devices from me).

But that will change in the near future, don't worry.
See handos posts about that here.
 
Last edited:

DARKGATE

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2005
Messages
152
Franxis posted on May 17 2009 at 12:54 PM said:
Why the WIZ news are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the WIZ forum threads are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the Pandora forum threads ARE posted in the front page?
Why there are no news about the recent WIZ launch?

:angry: :angry: :angry:
Franxis thank you for you hard work, please in the next version can you add the game, MOMOKO 120%?
P.S. Evil dragon the PANDORA get out for the year 2020?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

paradroid

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
61
Age
49
Location
Trieste, Italy
Website
Visit site
DARKGATE posted on May 17 2009 at 08:31 PM said:
Franxis posted on May 17 2009 at 12:54 PM said:
Why the WIZ news are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the WIZ forum threads are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the Pandora forum threads ARE posted in the front page?
Why there are no news about the recent WIZ launch?

:angry: :angry: :angry:
Franxis thank you for you hard work, please in the next version can you add the game, MOMOKO 120%?
P.S. Evil dragon the PANDORA get out for the year 2020?
Momoko 120% is my fovorite game. :)
Darkgate, I was thinking the same things as you B)
See you on italian forum .:rolleyes:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

djax

Still Fresh
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
19
Location
Czech republic, Europe
vEGA-rJ posted on May 17 2009 at 06:21 AM) [quote="djax posted on May 16 2009 at 11:01 PM said:
I tested it on Wiz, but many games, which work on 1.6b5, do not work in 2.0 :-(. For example Kung Fu Master, Metal Slug 2, Mortal Kombat 3, Final Fight... And I think, that games, which are working, are a bit slower, than before.
Are you sure you tested the right version?

In my tests this new version is more stable and faster than ever!

Keep it up the hard work Franxis, great work as usual! ;"]
[/quote]I now installed both 2.0 and 1.6b5 on my Wiz, upgraded to fw 1.0. On 1.6b5 for example Kung Fu Master and Final Fight runs ok, on the 2.0 Wiz both games freeze after try to run the ROM.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
46
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
djax posted on May 17 2009 at 11:32 PM) [quote="vEGA-rJ posted on May 17 2009 at 06:21 AM said:
djax posted on May 16 2009 at 11:01 PM said:
I tested it on Wiz, but many games, which work on 1.6b5, do not work in 2.0 :-(. For example Kung Fu Master, Metal Slug 2, Mortal Kombat 3, Final Fight... And I think, that games, which are working, are a bit slower, than before.
Are you sure you tested the right version?

In my tests this new version is more stable and faster than ever!

Keep it up the hard work Franxis, great work as usual! ;"]
I now installed both 2.0 and 1.6b5 on my Wiz, upgraded to fw 1.0. On 1.6b5 for example Kung Fu Master and Final Fight runs ok, on the 2.0 Wiz both games freeze after try to run the ROM.[/quote]I have just tried both games with v2.0. They both run without problems. I don't know what's your problem :( . Copy the v2.0 executables to your v1.6b5 folder, maybe the problem is in the configuration files (different overclocking? other different options?). Or do a clean v2.0 installation. Or maybe the problem is that your SD card doesn't work correctly (maybe your v2.0 folder is corrupt). Tell me if it solves your problems. Thanks for the report.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,794
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
DARKGATE posted on May 17 2009 at 08:31 PM said:
P.S. Evil dragon the PANDORA get out for the year 2020?
This is a thread about MAME4ALL on the WIZ, not about trying to be funny or bash the Pandora...
 
Last edited:

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
46
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
Some GP2X Vs WIZ performance numbers:

Mortal Kombat:
GP2X 250 MHz: 25 fps
WIZ 700 MHz: 46 fps

Out Run:
GP2X 250 MHz: 26 fps
WIZ 700 MHz: 45 fps

Street Fighter 2:
GP2X 250 MHz: 35 fps
WIZ 700 MHz: 57 fps

All tests done with MAME4ALL 2.0, 8 bit color, 22 khz sound and frameskip 0.
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
Franxis posted on May 17 2009 at 11:54 AM said:
Why the WIZ news are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the WIZ forum threads are NOT posted in the front page?
Why the Pandora forum threads ARE posted in the front page?
Why there are no news about the recent WIZ launch?
:angry: :angry: :angry:

Because Craig likes the Dingoo better :eek:

Actually I don't know maybe because the boards were down and they were just busy trying to get that working.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Manjuu

100% マンジュウ
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
718
Good work. Thanks for the update. :)

I've been wondering, whatever happened to Knuckle Joe (and others) that MAME GP2X supported?

Also, Q*bert seems to be missing some sound effects.
 

pongplaya

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
168
Age
49
Website
Visit site
muchas gracias amigo

awesome work :)

finally irem stuff is playable :)

i only have 2 wishes left:

1st somebody make a wrestlefest driver for mame4all

2nd port mame to my new little buddy Dingoo a 320 :) :)

salu2

pong
 

slaanesh

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
1,994
Age
51
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.slaanesh.net
Just a small point about the volume on MAME4ALL.

When a game starts up on my GP2X F-200, I'm often jumping out of my skin as the sound for certain games is very loud.
The other thing (and real reason) is that my wife gets mad at me when the silence is suddenly broken by the roar of some game starting up.
I'm forever decreasing the volume as soon as the game is loaded and forever telling her that "that's how it is with this particular game", though she doesn't believe me.

@ Franxis: Just wondering if I could add a volume control as a per-game option?

The default would be "normal" volume, however there would be options to select a lower volume on start-up for that game.

What do you think? Okay?
 
Top