Mame4all 1.0 For Gp2x (soon)


HeXy

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
32
This test version is fantastic for streetfighter 2 :D I love the new additions of pausing and configuring controls ingame, and the new config options, its marvellous!
 

geise69

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
607
I just wanted to say that I have been messing with the unstable test version that was posted here. Every time I pause the game then unpause it, the sound volume resets. It gets really loud. It does this for every game. I just wanted to add this cause I don't know if it's a bug or what, and thought it should be mentioned before the actual version gets released. By the way this is very nice version and I'm loving it! All in all this is an awesome version. Can't wait for a full release! Thanks Franxis!
 

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
45
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
The lock-ups and the problems with the sound volume are gone in my latest compiled executable... Expect the fixed version very soon...
 

nixeon4x

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
28
I'm assuming the cheat and hi-score saving files can be added when the final version is finished, since this
Mame is more like the PC version. :)
 

naples39

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
695
DaveC said:
naples39 said:
I've also had some issues with random freezes that lock-up my GP2X. Maybe it's a ram timings issue? I'll try with ram timings off and see if it still happens. Also, using DrZ80 can lockup the gp2x on exit as well.
I have had random lockups and I shut off DrZ80 and the ASM cores. It doesn't seem to make a difference. It locks up just as fast without the ASM cores. I don't think they are the problem, it is something else.I meant turning ram timings on might be causing the lockups, regardless of whether you have Cyclone or DrZ80. That wasn't the issue since I had a lockup the other day with ram timings off.

Either way, it makes no difference since it seems Franxis has the problem solved. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

geise69

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
607
Is cyclone+DrZ80 the fastest to use? I know it will cause certain games to not work correctly and the system-16 games will lock up when trying to quit (like old fast mame), but is it the fastest? Also what is the best vsync setting to use usually? I'm guessing normal, but which one is the fastest?
 

geise69

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
607
Rivroner said:
trainchaser said:
Franxis, is there a chance of getting Spiderman Arcade on Gp2x?

http://www.google.pl/url?sa=t&ct=res&a...3m83PyZPWq4fjfg

It is one of like three games I was in love in as a kid. Brings so much nostalgia flavoured memories :/



I think that is imposible.

Yeah mame4all has a hard time running system-16 games I think system-32 would be way too slow. Plus it was added I believe in a way later version of mame. Hmmm...I wonder if Modeler is portable?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pongplaya

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
168
Age
49
Website
Visit site
trainchaser said:
:( Vendetta doesn't work.

If somebody finds a working rom, please let me know.

works here.... yet crashes to to "Beta" after approx 5-7 mins (level 2)

i D/L the new romsets (all) and used the dat file & clrmamepro ...


geise69 said:
Is cyclone+DrZ80 the fastest to use? I know it will cause certain games to not work correctly and the system-16 games will lock up when trying to quit (like old fast mame), but is it the fastest? Also what is the best vsync setting to use usually? I'm guessing normal, but which one is the fastest?
sys 16 doesnt freeze anymore due to cyclone and dr. z80 :) :) :)

fastest "sync" is off (but i find normal the fastest somehow....)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

geise69

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
607
Thanks for the reply. All the system 16 games do freeze for me if I use the Cyclone+DrZ80 option. The regular cyclone or DrZ80 option is fine. It's no big deal though. I can always just restart my gp2x. It's worth it to get a couple more frames a second out of it.
 

pongplaya

Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
168
Age
49
Website
Visit site
geise69 said:
Thanks for the reply. All the system 16 games do freeze for me if I use the Cyclone+DrZ80 option. The regular cyclone or DrZ80 option is fine. It's no big deal though. I can always just restart my gp2x. It's worth it to get a couple more frames a second out of it.
yeahhhh .... the sys 16 should be ok with the final on the other hand the "outrun" based games are still kinda slow space harrier is still slow as helll :( but outrun is almost there :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

classicgmr

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
177
Website
Visit site
OK I deleted my entire post because I'm an idiot. :)

I'll just make this a quick question... is there any way to speed up a rom (Mania Challenge specifically) aside from running at a higher CPU speed and would it be difficult to optimize the program for it(if it's even possible)?

It does finally work :D and runs full speed with NO sound but with any sound even at 245 MHz there's frame skips.

I'm just curious! Other than that I do like what's new in this version! Thanks a ton!
 
Top