'ln' Command


A_SN

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2006
Messages
899
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
347
Age
34
Location
Killeen, TX
Website
Visit site
I don't usually do linux, so I was a bit confused on how to use the command in the first place.

Operation not permitted? I thought the you ran as root, when you use the GP2X?
 

Orkie

Super Duper Mega GP Mania
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
2,350
Location
UK
Website
x11.gp2x.de
I don't usually do linux, so I was a bit confused on how to use the command in the first place.

Operation not permitted? I thought the you ran as root, when you use the GP2X?
'Operation not permitted' isn't to do with permissions. It is to do with something simply not being possible. In this case, FAT doesn't support links, hence why you get that message. Instead, you'll need use scripts as was previously suggested.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
31
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
I don't usually do linux, so I was a bit confused on how to use the command in the first place.

Operation not permitted? I thought the you ran as root, when you use the GP2X?
'Operation not permitted' isn't to do with permissions. It is to do with something simply not being possible. In this case, FAT doesn't support links, hence why you get that message. Instead, you'll need use scripts as was previously suggested.
yep, what I though.

anyways, michael to make a symbolic link:
ln -s <place to link to> <nameoflink>
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
347
Age
34
Location
Killeen, TX
Website
Visit site
yep, what I though.

anyways, michael to make a symbolic link:
ln -s <place to link to> <nameoflink>
On a real linux fs, right? Thanks a lot.

@Orkie: Sorry about not reading the post above, but w/ a slow connection like mine (middle of the desert, third-world country and all. Bad satalite dish, bad!), I often don't read the replies until after I've posted something because by the time it gets posted someone's posted something new.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DavidBeoulve

GP2X by EvilDragon OC's to 280-300MHz
Joined
May 10, 2006
Messages
427
Age
44
Location
USA
Website
www.GamersGoneBad.com
Michael, here are my scripts to see as examples. Save your scripts as UNIX files in your text editor. All of these are in the root directory of my SD card.

Run Neo Geo.gpe
#!/bin/sh

cd /mnt/sd/emulators/neogeo/
./rage2x.gpe
sync

cd /usr/gp2x/
exec /usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu
Run Open BoR.gpe
#!/bin/sh

/mnt/sd/cpu_speed.gpu 1 2 280
cd /mnt/sd/Games/openbor/
./openbor.gpe
sync

cd /usr/gp2x/
exec /usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu
Run Quake.gpe
#!/bin/sh

/mnt/sd/cpu_speed.gpu 1 2 280
cd /mnt/sd/
./quake
sync

cd /usr/gp2x/
exec /usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu
Run Sega Genesis.gpe
#!/bin/sh

cd /mnt/sd/emulators/genesis/
./DrMDv5b2.gpe
sync

cd /usr/gp2x/
exec /usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu
 
Top