full OMAP5 documentation

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by notaz, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. thatgui

    thatgui Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,901
    Sounds great, do you have already any ideas about possible usecases ?
     
  2. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    Ah yes, something useful. That is the problem - similiar to DSP on Pandora. :) But even knowing how to run code on the M4 cores will be a step forward so good luck with that.
     
  3. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    I am hoping the pyra will have enough power to run deadbeef with the LADSPA 3-band parametric equalizer.

    If I had 10x the coding skills I would do a DSP based parametric EQ...
     
  4. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    I have no clue how to compare as I never dealt with any of that, but I can play 1080p h264 videos fullspeed on the OMAP5 devboard entirely on the power of the CPU(s). 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 28, 2014
  5. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If there is one way to get 10x te coding skills it is having a clear cut project like you just described. It probably wont be the best parametric EQ but you'll without a doubt lean a hell of a lot just trying it.

    (I just made my own little tuning machine in PD, and I still dont fully understand everything but I sure understand a lot more than I did before)
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  6. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Now even the public doc has been pulled down, what are they doing there..
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Maybe they decided public documents are not necessary as you can't easily buy the OMAP...? Who knows what TI are doing...
     
  8. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,380
    Location:
    Cái Bang
  9. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    You can buy the evaluation board (easily), can't you ?
     
  10. M-HT

    M-HT Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Bratislava
    The public document is back.
     
  11. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Easily yes, cheaply no.
     
  12. kaprikawn

    kaprikawn Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    UK
    I just went to get them, just in case.  But you have to sign away your life to access them.  Are those terms and conditions for real, should they be taken seriously?  If you're not associated with a company then what do you put in the company name bit?  What do people put when they ask you why you're downloading the documents.
     
  13. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    They're real to Ti...
     
  14. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    In older times they had a note asking to enter "HOME" as a company name and "N/A" as a website if you're downloading for personal use. This is still saved on my TI account and pre-filled like that when I need to download their stuff.
     
  15. kaprikawn

    kaprikawn Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    371
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, got them now.

    I think they are just covering themselves.  There wasn't much of a verification procedure, it let me have the documents immediately.  I've had harder times getting non-prescription drugs online.
     
  16. zmatt

    zmatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I personally have experience with baremetal programming on a DM8148, which includes the dual-cortex-M3 predecessor (Ducati) to the dual-cortex-M4 subsystem (Benelli). Apart from the cores used the subsystems are identical afaik.

    My experience is that it's really easy to at least put one core to use. There's a weird little MMU ("AMMU") integrated into the Unicache that should be setup properly, although the reset defaults are already usable and in particular map address 0 to the local SRAM of the subsystem. This means that firing it up is a simple matter of:
    1. Release subsystem from reset
    2. Upload code to subsystem SRAM, adjust AMMU settings to taste
    3. Release core from reset
    And it's up and running! Putting both cores to work is slightly more interesting since, apart from their Private Peripheral Bus, the cores have identical views of the address space. Neither AMMU nor the L2 MMU has the ability to distinguish between the two cores. This means that you effectively have to program them as if they're two threads in a single process, which is slightly annoying.


    I used the DSP for real-time audio processing (no DMA, no rx fifo, max 1 sample per channel buffered in the tx fifo), but the DM814x has a proper C674x DSP. I'm not sure what to make of that bastard child Tesla that's on the omap4 and omap5, or what motivated TI to cut a C64x+ core in half and glue it onto another (but differently configured) instance of that weird AMMU/Unicache IP block instead of the usual GEM/CorePac. It certainly won't help that the current version (v8) of TI's C6x compiler dropped support for Tesla as being "obsolete", and there's (afaik) no published instruction set manual, although it probably wouldn't be very difficult to figure it out.
    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 4, 2016, Original Post Date: Feb 4, 2016 ---
    Note BTW that the subsystem is also closely associated with the camera subsystem (ISS). I don't know if Pyra intends to use it, but if so then you may want to use an M4 core to look after it.
     
    levi likes this.
  17. Plume

    Plume Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    There is, at least as far as I know, no plan to use the camera subsystem, the main reason being that there is no viable solution to put a camera somewhere when you consider the available modules given the production size.
     
  18. zmatt

    zmatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Netherlands
    They're really tiny nowadays of course (the smallest I found with a few minutes of googling was the 6.5 mm x 6.5 mm VX6953CB) but I have no idea how cramped the design already is right now. And of course there's the cost issue.

    The camera subsystem, especially the SIMCOP subsubsystem does seem to have its uses without an actual camera, e.g. accelerated JPEG en-/decoding and some types of image processing. I wouldn't be surprised if other uses could be conceived for them. Unfortunately, as usual, public documentation is very limited.
     
  19. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139
    As far as I know, the X, Y dimensions weren't nearly as critical as depth Z (lid might be able to house a 3mm tall feature, but not much more), placement (facing in or out or two camera modules? screen board takes whole lid & bezel), cost of module and support for it (optics require special considerations) and complicating the wiring between the base and lid.

    So - what was the 3rd (height) dimension of that module? Not that it matters now, though, as the boards, plastics and all are already going into production form.
     
  20. zmatt

    zmatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Netherlands
    "6.5 x 6.5 x 4.6 mm (without lens cover)", so it wouldn't have made it anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...