Firmware 1.2.1 Released


evolutional

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
13
Does it work? I'm on 1.1.0 and have one SD card, I really don't want to end up with a brick.
 

Fiendicus_Prime

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
65
Installed on mine (Adata 1Gb 150x) no problems, without reverting to default skin (using Tux n Tosh).

I'm liking the 4-way navigation and the picture viewer is totally great. Now all we need is TV-cables :)

What's left for 1.3.0? Fixing the LCD flicker issue (default to UPLL)? That's the last real problem with it isn't it - I can do without WMV and whatnot.
 

reallynotnick

The smartest newb
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
871
Website
Visit site
Good news to see this fixes the problem hope this fixes all cards.

As for 1.3 the features I would like are
1. Battery light to work
2. More supported formats in video player, like mpeg-1, mpeg-2, mpeg-4, and H.264/AVC (long shot on that one)
3. Better battery life
4. Faster start up times
5. A new way to update so that it can not brick your unit on start up (you should HAVE to run the update in the utility menu not have it automatically 'think' there is an update on your card).
6. More supported audio formats, right now AAC comes to mind (it does not support that right?)
7. Duh, fix the screen

So I see a lot of things that 1.3 can add, can't wait to get my new working GP2X.
 

bblut

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
3
I have the TV out cable from Play Asia, and there are still some issues.

Screen moving arrows are available in this new firmware, but not for scaling. Screen is a little oversized for my TV for some reason.

Movie playback is great, but DrMD is unusable as the screen is split horizontally with a badly ghosted image on the bottom. SNES is fine though. This is probably a Reesy issue so send him $$$$.

MPG support would be nice though.
:)
 

Eolair

I am become death, the destroyer of worlds
Joined
Apr 17, 2005
Messages
1,032
Location
Sweden
Website
Visit site
USB 2.0 support would be nice seeing as they cut out the USB host to have it :rolleyes:
 

IanJ

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
33
Age
46
Location
Livingston, Scotland.
Website
ian.jeffray.co.uk
Last edited by a moderator:

FusionSamus

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 7, 2005
Messages
24
Age
35
Location
Cedar City, UT -- USA
Website
dumptruck.homelinux.net
The firmware update applied for me just fine, but the I ran the patch and got nothing. The screen came up that said "Patching. Please Wait." and then the screen following that one. "Complete. Please Wait." but when the root menu comes back up, nothing has changed. I go into the settings -> info option just to make sure, but the version still says 1.1.0. If anyone has any ideas on this issue, please PM me ASAP!

Thanks in advance!
 

Alpha2

Heroic Autobot
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
3,821
Age
47
Location
New York
Website
the-real-alpha2.com
Isnt there supposed to be a patch application you run after restarting with the patch routine?

Also a question for those using the 1.2.1, has the A/V sync issue reported after 1.2 been fixed by the patch too?
 

CoinOp

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
109
Website
Visit site
Isnt there supposed to be a patch application you run after restarting with the patch routine?

Also a question for those using the 1.2.1, has the A/V sync issue reported after 1.2 been fixed by the patch too?
Just upgraded mine to 1.2.1. For all intents and purposes it breaks any DivX movie with audio sync problems. I'm losing my sense of humor about this stuff. GPH TURN OVER ALL THE SOURCE TO THE BLESSED DEVS!

edit: phrasing
 
Last edited by a moderator:

silentalarm

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
26
Location
U.K
Website
Visit site
I just upgraded my firmware and now sound doesnt work *at all* in games or movies :angry:

Has this happened to anyone else??


edit: It's just started working again now...how strange!
 

chris_r

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
745
I just realised all my divx videos that were on my sd now go out of sync despite the fact they worked fine before
 
Top