Fast Boot Firmware - 15 Second Boots

Fiendicus_Prime

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
65
I did cramfs_0.0.3 with the gpu file and it worked fine, and I have just done the kernel to 0.0.4 on it's own and it is still working fine!

Amazing stuff.
 

Hanz™

FIGHT THE POWER! :D
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
2,577
Age
32
Location
fan
Website
Visit site
theoddbot posted on Feb 21 2006 at 11:04 AM said:
OK at 0.0.4 is available which fixes the i2c problems at so the LCD settings are saved. If you already have 0.0.3 then just use the gp2xkernel.img here, otherwise grab the full release.
Nice! :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
I can't get Rage2x or selector working with 0.04. Is anyone else having this problem or have I done something wrong? :s
 

NeoStuey

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2004
Messages
613
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
antidark posted on Feb 21 2006 at 10:15 AM said:
djchk posted on Feb 21 2006 at 10:26 AM said:
antidark posted on Feb 21 2006 at 10:15 AM said:
Rage2x (FRONT END OF GNGEO) and emulator spectrum not work in 0.02
Work in 0,03 0 0.04 ?
Thnks
JC
I can't get Rage2x to work in 0.04 :(
djchk posted on Feb 21 2006 at 12:47 PM said:
I can't get Rage2x or selector working with 0.04. Is anyone else having this problem or have I done something wrong? :s
Rage2x (FRONT END OF GNGEO) and emulator spectrum not work in 0.02
Work in 0,03 0 0.04 ?
Thnks
JC
I'm waiting and watching beofre I commit to changing my firmware. But I will be interested to know if anyone has an answer to these questions.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
Well Rage2x doesn't seem to work but I have redownloaded gngeo with the selector and it is working :)
 

Watto

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
76
Age
53
Location
Liverpool, UK
Website
Visit site
Bang on 15 seconds to boot, impressive :). As djchk has said, Rage2x definitely doesn't work, but gngeo will work. DrMD, OutcaST, GP2xEngine, Vice, UAE all seem to work. Mame however seems to be a bit temperamental for me :(.

Tony
 

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
Selector with Gngeo is temperamental for me. It worked for a while but then stopped working completely. The only way I could get it to work again was to delete the Selector and Gngeo files off the SD and then put them back on.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
242
beautiful firmware--fixes *so many* problems. A shame it didn't hit the coding compo, it's got to be worth a place for pure usefulness.

Now GP2X feels like a game system.
...and for some reason I'm having trouble keeping my hands off it.

ooh, and a new version too...
 

CyberAxe

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
206
i just flashed from normal 1.4.0 straight to 0.0.4 fastboot and its not working it just stays suck on the loading screen
 

bmilleker

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
267
Age
33
Location
Regina, Sask, Canada!
Website
bmilleker.misled-life.com
i just flashed from normal 1.4.0 straight to 0.0.4 fastboot and its not working it just stays suck on the loading screen
You followed the instructions and ran the gpu file, or the dd before restarting your gp2x?

Also, this is using the older STerm. There is one available which has support for spacing without moving the cursor on the virtual keyboard.
 

CyberAxe

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
206
bmilleker posted on Feb 21 2006 at 05:07 PM said:
i just flashed from normal 1.4.0 straight to 0.0.4 fastboot and its not working it just stays suck on the loading screen
You followed the instructions and ran the gpu file, or the dd before restarting your gp2x?

Also, this is using the older STerm. There is one available which has support for spacing without moving the cursor on the virtual keyboard.
i did like it said in the instructions and ran the script first then flashed
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Michaela

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
1
I have the same problem as CyberAxe. I had upgraded to the normal 1.4.0 prior to trying the fastboot version. I had also installed the USB serial driver and the USB network driver (which meant installing THAT kernel). Starting from that, I:

- copied the cram file and script to my SD card
- turned on my GP2X and and ran the script
- waited about 2 minutes and then the menu came up again
- powered down my GP2X
- copied the fastboot firmware to my SD card
- powered on my GP2X and waited forever at the firmware (green) loading screen

I've tried this several times but it always hangs for me. Anyone else having this problem?
 

Voyageur

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
47
Age
38
Location
Paris, France
Website
Visit site
The update from 1.4 worked like a charm here, just a few comments:
- lrz is still a symlink to lsz in 0.0.4 (making it complicated to send files to the gp2x that way ;) )
- is there another way (like the system for mplayer's bookmarks) to switch skins than to make a new cramfs dump? My skin2x program feels useless now
- strace is nice, how about adding gdb too? No dev should go out without it

Apart from that, wonderful work!
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
156
Anyone have a heads up on the MAME issue? Since MAME is one of the MAIN things I use the GP2x for, if its flakey, I'll hold off on this upgrade.

Thanks!
 

rSl

i'm not tired. you're tired.
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
735
Location
homecomputer
maybe it would be nice to modify the ldconfig,
so that one can have custom libs in a /mnt/sd/lib/ dir merged in after booting.
 

theoddbot

Certified Guru
Joined
Sep 25, 2005
Messages
341
Website
oddbot.googlepages.com
rSl posted on Feb 22 2006 at 06:06 AM said:
maybe it would be nice to modify the ldconfig,
so that one can have custom libs in a /mnt/sd/lib/ dir merged in after booting.
You can do that with LD_LIBRARY_PATH if your app requires it.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top