Every Neo Geo Game Is Bad Rom Or Romrc??

Discussion in 'I need help' started by evilmegaman, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. evilmegaman

    evilmegaman Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Can someone help me figure out why every neogeo game I play (4 versions of *** chaos.. Don't know if we're allowed to post names. Plus 1 other game) never works. It really sucks cuz I just get the Bad ROM or ROMRC error. Any one have any ideas? I even tried the one at the gp2x torrent site..
     
    Tags:
  2. xinfernoofdantex

    xinfernoofdantex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    you can post the name of a game
     
  3. rmatheso

    rmatheso Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Remember, load up your romrc file as text. Locate the rom you want and make sure the files in the rom match the list in the romrc file.
     
  4. gaterooze

    gaterooze Coltrane Sundia

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    I think those ones are pre-dumped with the old version, so some won't work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  5. evilmegaman

    evilmegaman Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    I think I found one that works, But it just sends me back to selector. it isn't selectable in rage2x either
     
  6. ketchupgun

    ketchupgun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Ihave the EXACT same problem.
    the file names match the romrc.
    I don't get it.

    my roms are "MAME 32 NeoGeo" (?) if that makes any difference>
    What is this process of grafix dumping? Is that just another way of saying putting the original game into a rom file?
     
  7. Quiest

    Quiest I like turtles!

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,063
    Location:
    Dteuschland ;)
    Grafix dumping is for games that are too big to fit in the 2X`s memory.

    And I got the same problem with all the roms I downloaded today, infact, these are all roms for which the wiki says they work fine... any help?
     
  8. bbodin

    bbodin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    I'm assuming you have the bios files in the rom directory? If not, then you missed a step.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  9. ketchupgun

    ketchupgun Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    Yes, as outlined in here + the UNIBIOS added in the roms as well
    Rage works but the games (MAME 32) won't run. Files are named as per romrc.

    then I scraped all that and found a all-your-answers-here-just-drop-and-play torrent...NOTHING! Bubkiss!

    I dunno.
    (I'm no prgrammer, so this is all hit and miss....all the other emulators work fine, this NeoGeo though is a tough nut to crack)

    SDL libraries? is that a given her that I'm missing?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  10. whiskthecat

    whiskthecat whiskthecat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    809
    Location:
    Texas
    Get 7zip and make sure all the files match the romrc that are in the zip. Not only does the name have to match but so do the crc checksums. If the crc's are correct and the filenames are not then just rename. If some of the crc's are correct and others are not then keep the good ones, obtain another copy of the game and mix and match until you have the correct crc's.

    If you are still confused then tell me the name of the game you need help with and I will try and help.
     
  11. paulobecker

    paulobecker Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Brazil
    I'm having this problem too. But in my case it seems to be even weirder: I had Last Blade, Neodrift and KoF'94 and they were all working about a week ago. Yesterday I tried to play Last Blade and it didn't work (Bad rom message). I thought maybe something wrong happened with the gfx dump, so I tried the other two (neither of which require dumps) and neither of them worked! I didn't change ANYTHING in the main gngeo directory, did not install a different version of the emulator, neither of the frontend. They simply stopped working from one day to the next.

    I checked to SD card to see if it had corrupted the files, and it didn't. I even re-copied the roms from my PC to the card, along with a few others, and the problem persisted. Tried deleting the save games, and still nothing. Already checked to see if the bios files are all there, and they are... I'm really lost in this one.
     
  12. evilmegaman

    evilmegaman Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    What does it mean when you start up the game but it kicks me back to selector with no error?
     
  13. gaterooze

    gaterooze Coltrane Sundia

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    Paulo, I'd delete your gngeo directory and re-copy everything over fresh from the zip files (of whatever version you were using).
     
  14. paulobecker

    paulobecker Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Brazil
    I just did that and am still getting the same message. Only now I realised that the romrc entries don't match the names of the files inside my rom zips. I would rename them myself, but I have absolutely no idea which files are supposed to have which names... Is there anyway of figuring this out?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  15. elvgren

    elvgren Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    I seem to have lost two games that were working fine.

    Metal Slug 3, works but corrupt graphics are now overlayed and Pulstar now just goes to a red warning screen.

    I tried deleting configs & GFX files and reinstalling but there still the same, dont know why.

    E
     
  16. ckaloc2002

    ckaloc2002 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    I don't know if this help, but I had strange issue until I noticed my romrc file in my gngeo2x directory on my sd was an old one. So I take the one from this archive: http://m.peponas.free.fr/gngeo/download/gngeo2x_0.6.12.zip
    and now all my roms are working properly. Also I am using the roms from antidark compilation available as a torrent.

    Right now, I have Mslug 3, 4, 5 , Samourai Showdown 5, Kof2004, Prehistoric Isle 2,...perfectly working :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  17. elvgren

    elvgren Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    @ckaloc2002. No, that didnt work either it seems to be the same romc, thanks anyway.

    Just sems strange they did work, then not now, I must have done something but dont know what for it to happen.

    E
     
  18. project86

    project86 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    108

    For me, this happens only when I change the options (hit Y button before selecting your ROM) to include sound, and overclocked to 266. I can usually play for a while, then it dumps me. If I leave it clocked at 200, with no sound (since there is no options for 200mhz + sound unfortunately) then it never dumps me back to the menu.

    I assume it has something to do ith overheating? It lets me play for a while, then dumps me... and if I go back to the game again, I don't get to play for very long the 2nd time around. BTW my 1st edition only seems to clock to around 255.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  19. paulobecker

    paulobecker Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Brazil
    You can change the different settings by opening one of the config files (can't remember which one now) and manually editing the different parameters. It's really simple, just make sure you use an editor that supports the unix carriage returns (I use Crimson Editor myself).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016
  20. ckaloc2002

    ckaloc2002 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Too bad; I have got the same and then decided to test on a different SD with a brand new copy of gngeo2x. This is where I discovered that I was using a wrong romrc (but don't know in which gngeo2x archive it was included, but if I remember the latest romrc is not the right one).

    Anyway good luck in your investigation!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...