Dungeon Master "Anthology" on Pandora


PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947
Hi, I know that's only a dream for now to play all the Dungeon Master games on the Pandora, but I can't try them by myself (it's waiting time...EDIT: ah, the sweet old waiting time :p ) and I want to know how them works.

I'll try to list every existent version that I know of:

--

  • Dungeon Master (Atari ST) - WORKS
  • Dungeon Master (Apple II GS) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master (Amiga) - WORKS
  • Dungeon Master (PC-DOS) - WORKS (DosBox)
  • Dungeon Master (SNES) - WORKS
  • Dungeon Master (X68000) - WORKS (PX68k, not fully tested)
  • Dungeon Master (PC-9801) - WORKS (Neko Project II - issues with speed, nubs and keyboard, you have to use the included "Software keyboard" to play, cause the game require numeric keypad... and the mouse cursor is really really slow)
  • Dungeon Master (FM-Towns) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master (CSBwin) - WORKS (Video from YouTube) (CSBWin PND Original thread Pandora Forum Thread)
----
  • Dungeon Master 2 (PC-DOS) - WORKS (DosBox)
  • Dungeon Master 2 (Amiga) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (Macintosh) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (Sega/Mega CD) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (PC-9801) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (PC-9821) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (IBM PS/V) - unknown
  • Dungeon Master 2 (FM-Towns) - unknown
--
  • Theron's Quest (TurboGrafx / PC Engine) - unknown
--
  • Dungeon Master Nexus (Sega Saturn) - JUST STARTS (Yabause experimental build, after initial FMV the game is black)
In the Dungeon Master Encyclopaedia are listed the differencies of the same game on different platforms.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Asmo

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
2,279
P.S.: How can I post a simple link to a youtube video without the automatic added MEDIA tag ?
Put it in the URL tags instead. ;)

It automatically switches them for media tags if it's a youtube link!


One way round it might be to mask the link with a description



Code:
 [url=www.youtubevideoofyourchoice.om/b4gd6g]Awesome Video![/url]
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
DM1 and Csb play fine in numerous formats. With csbwin also runnin you've got that avenue


Dm2 is probably out of the question (was in dosbox a year or two back)


Therons quest on th16 used to not work but likely does now, but not tried.


(to me its really only dm, csb and maybe dm2 for canon ;)


Jeffphone
 

BAFelton

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
1,269
Website
www.open-consoles.com
Dungeon Master (Atari ST) - WORKS


Dungeon Master (Amiga) - WORKS


Dungeon Master (PC-DOS) - WORKS (dosbox)


Dungeon Master (SNES) - WORKS


Chaos Strikes Back (Atari ST) - WORKS


Chaos Strikes Back (Amiga) - WORKS


Dungeon Master 2 (PC-DOS) - WORKS (dosbox)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947
Dungeon Master (Atari ST) - WORKS


Dungeon Master (Amiga) - WORKS


Dungeon Master (PC-DOS) - WORKS (dosbox)


Dungeon Master (SNES) - WORKS


Chaos Strikes Back (Atari ST) - WORKS


Chaos Strikes Back (Amiga) - WORKS


Dungeon Master 2 (PC-DOS) - WORKS (dosbox)


WOW !! That was fast !! :D Thanks


Does DM 2 works at full speed in dosbox ?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

BAFelton

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
1,269
Website
www.open-consoles.com
DM1 works well with Dosbox, but you have to use the stylus cause there's a issue with the nubs.


DM2 is a bit slow but really playable. Same issue that DM1. (I can make a vid if you like ;) )


I can test the others, but these ones :


Dungeon Master (X68000) - unknown


Dungeon Master (PC-9801) - unknown


Dungeon Master (FM-Towns) - unknown


I don't know how with which emulator ?
 

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947
Hey, don't forget about the nice port of Chaos Strikes Back that was done - here's a link to the discussion:


http://www.gp32x.de...tc-for-pandora/


The pnd doesn't seem to be on the repo, but it's on the wiki in the Games list under "Dungeon Master aka. Chaos Strikes Back"

It was already there ;) listed as CSBwin version, anyway I'll add the link to the port!! Thanks

BAFelton said:
(I can make a vid if you like )

If you find the time i'll be happy to link it in the first post, I'm always hungry of pandora gameplay !! ;)

BAFelton said:
I can test the others, but these ones :


Dungeon Master (X68000) - unknown


Dungeon Master (PC-9801) - unknown


Dungeon Master (FM-Towns) - unknown


I don't know how with which emulator ?

LOL, I don't even know what theese platforms are... so I can't help, but seems like PC more than consoles...


anyway the FM-Towns version seems the only one with a CD soundtrack during the game...


I only have this reference to an emulator called UNZ for windows http://dmweb.free.fr/?q=node/345


And this information can be useful too http://boards.dingoo...arty-emulators/


this is a badass multi-emulator... http://www.xe-emulat...dex.php?m=about hope someone can compile it for the pandora...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947
Tested "Dungeon Master (PC-9801)" with Neko Project II, it works, but the controls are a great issue, anyway another addition to the Pandora "Anthology" :) hoping to be able one day to play this version in a better way
 
Last edited by a moderator:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,060
FYI, The DOS version of Dungeon Master I and II are now very playable with the newer versions of DOSBox with the speedier Dynarec. I had no issues with the Nubs so not sure what's that all about. But I assume most of this is old information as this thread is almost a year old.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,947
FYI, The DOS version of Dungeon Master I and II are now very playable with the newer versions of DOSBox with the speedier Dynarec. I had no issues with the Nubs so not sure what's that all about. But I assume most of this is old information as this thread is almost a year old.

I started this thread for curiosity before receiving my Pandora, it needs to be updated indeed... in some months the emulators have got a great speed/usability boost !! B)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
The original DM is Atari ST and works flawlessly in Hatari :)


We also have native ports in the repo (from translation from ST to source and now prtable) so.. There you go for DM and CSB :)
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,941
Age
48
Location
France, near Lyon
Tried DM:Nexus on a experimental build of Yabause on the Pandora.

I got the FMV, but ingame play is broken (Black screen basically).

yabause-dm1.png
 
Top