Release DosBox EX

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by StreaK, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    A fork of DosBox:


    Features:


    DB EX v1.0a [based on DB SVN 01/08/2011]


    - Changed mapper


    - Changed config


    - Removed some stuff from source code to speed up autostart


    - Adjusted config to maximum speed [and save maximum compatibility]


    - Built without SDL GL


    - all standard gaming controls from dos [ALT / CTRL / ENTER / SPACE ]


    are mapped into pandora A/B/X/Y gaming buttons


    - autostart is prepared to mount 2 virtual dos partitions "C" / "D".


    C - contains additional applications like DosNavigator


    D - contains all /media/ so it contains all pandora SD drives [sD slot 1 / SD slot 2]


    Please test it and give some feedback.


    Download: As usual on 4th Floor Development [PND on FB Wall]


    BTW. New version of DB EX will replace DN with DosZip Commander [it works better with DB EX]
     
    Tags:
  2. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    If this has changes that other find useful then some collaboration between you and I should happen to merge both pnd's.
     
  3. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    that's the pandora spirit, loving it
     
  4. bagmouse7

    bagmouse7 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    More awesome work from StreaK!


    Thanks, I will test it and let you know.
     
  5. tuki_cat

    tuki_cat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Thanks, it works great.


    Does anyone know if you can mount a CD using this?
     
  6. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    you mean cd image?, which use imgmount command, check the dosbox pages for more info
     
  7. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

  8. Blue Protoman

    Blue Protoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,119
    Wow, you're this season's mcobit! Keep up the good work!
     
  9. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,515
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Yeah, mcobit is King! :)
     
  10. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

  11. bagmouse7

    bagmouse7 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    299
    Wondertwin powers... ACTIVATE! Form of a code breathing monster!!!


    Keep up the great work! Thanks.
     
  12. F_Slim

    F_Slim IDDQD

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,


    I dont have my Pandora yet, but since I am mainly interested in Amiga and DOS emulation, I just wanted to say thanks in advance and encourage any DOS-related developments :)


    I think it's great to have an optimized config included, thanks for that!


    One question: you stated that the buttons are mapped with keys (and they make perfect sense acutally), but can those buttons along with the nubs stimm be used as joystick?
     
  13. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  14. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    Thank you Thank you THANK YOU!!!!


    Finaly a version of DosBox where the mouse actually works!


    I can't tell you how wonderfull it is to be able to load up Lemmings and play with the nubs with *NO ISSUES WHATSOEVER*!!!! Fantastic! :D


    Touch screen is completely out though - but as long as the nubs work I don't mind a bit.


    Question: in Dboxfe I can run WarCraft 2 from: 32GB_FLASH/pandora/appdata/dosbox/games/war2/war2.exe


    But when I try to do the same using DosBox EX the game askes me to insert my WarCraft II CD????


    What's up with that?


    Again, thank you so much for doing this. :)
     
  15. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    maybe you need exact folder path like c:/games/war2/war2.exe or e:/games/war2/war2.exe


    then just mount a directory 32GB_FLASH/pandora/appdata/dosbox as e: and try to start it after mounting


    mount e: /media/32GB_FLASH/pandora/appdata/dosbox
     
  16. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    One problem. I am unable to type : in your version of DosBox. :(
     
  17. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    just type:


    mount e /media/32GB_FLASH/pandora/appdata/dosbox


    [no ':' required]
     
  18. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    That worked a treat! Thanks. :)


    Now you say this version is optimized for speed... My observation is that WarCraft II runs a bit smoother at 1000mhz in Dboxfe than it does in DosBox EX. Any idea why?
     
  19. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    oh, well. dont forget that this version is from SVN so maybe there will be some unoptimized code here and there for certain games.
     
  20. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,434
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    My builds were also based on the svn
     

Share This Page

Loading...