Dosbox - dynrec update


M-HT

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
626
Location
Bratislava
Website
github.com
Hi,


I updated the dynrec in Dosbox - you can get the patch in the dosbox forums.


I compared the speed of my version (latest svn + my patch) against the old dosbox pnd with following results...


Even without my patch applied, my version was 20% faster than dosbox pnd.


With my patch applied, my version is 80% faster than dosbox pnd - using doom2 timedemo (100% faster using benchmark without graphics output).


(I also tested version by urjaman called winbox, but the speed was roughly the same as dosbox pnd.)


My version was compiled with crosscompiler by Ivanovic.


First I configured dosbox using this script:



Code:
#!/bin/sh


HOST=arm-none-linux-gnueabi

TARGET=arm-none-linux-gnueabi


export HOST

export TARGET


PATH=$PATH:$PNDSDK/bin

export PATH


./configure --prefix=$PNDSDK --with-sdl-exec-prefix=$PNDSDK/usr --host=$HOST --target=$TARGET --build=`uname -m` CPPFLAGS="-I$PNDSDK/include" CXXFLAGS="-O3 -fmerge-all-constants -ffast-math -pipe -march=armv7-a -mcpu=cortex-a8 -mtune=cortex-a8 -mfpu=vfpv3 -mfloat-abi=softfp -mthumb-interwork" LDFLAGS="-s -L$PNDSDK/lib" --enable-core-inline
Next I edited config.h and changed the following definitions:



Code:
#define C_DYNREC 1

#define C_TARGETCPU ARMV7LE

#define C_UNALIGNED_MEMORY 1
Then I compiled dosbox.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Wow, nice one!


Make a pnd and upload to the repo please.


I don't know, if pickle has the time to update his build right now.


Now it only needs your custom filters (and maybe the touchscreenfix) included and it might be the perfect dosbox for armdevices.


Edit: I can offer to prepare the pnd, if you like, including the frontend.


Edit2: Did you use -mfpu=vfpv3 because neon doesn't work with thumbcode?


Edit3: Compiling it right now. There is a nice game, I always wanted to play on the Pandora, but dosbox didn't quite cut it and qemu had a lot of problems with the graphics. Hope it may work now at a reasonable speed. Thanks again!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

M-HT

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
626
Location
Bratislava
Website
github.com
I would prefer if the old dosbox pnd was updated, rather than creating another one.


Using my neon scalers in dosbox is not really possible, because dosbox doesn't scale the whole screen every frame. As far as I know, the screen is divided into small tiles and only the tiles that were changed are scaled.


I used -mfpu=vfpv3, because dosbox uses doubles for fpu registers (in dynrec). Which btw is insufficient for some games, because the x86 fpu has 80-bit registers.


Also I'm not using thumb instructions in the armv7 version. I tried making a backend with thumb-2 instructions, but it was only slightly faster and I experienced random crashes, so in the end I only used the backend with arm instructions.
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
I just installed it and run the riddle of master lu at completely playable speed at 900 mhz.


I am very impressed, as the old one was not nearly capable of that.


Thanks for this!
 

Michoko

Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
458
Location
France
Pandora is a great device, but its community really triples the fun! That's very exciting news!


Thank you for this!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Darkknight512

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
637
Age
26
Location
Canada
Sound great, I remember Raptor: Call of the Shadows run just slightly too slow, so this should work nicely.
 

Ian J

Advanced Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
1,880
Pandora is a great device, but its community really triples the fun! That's very exciting news!
Here Here.


This is great news, can't wait to try this out.


Many thanks for everyone's work on this.
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,493
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Ok its up on the repo


Edit: M-HT if you have the time could you run your doom test to be sure i didnt mess something up ;-)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MasterJulian

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
97
I am following this thread (Settlers II on the Pandora would be awesome). I don't have my Pandora yet and I never built a PND but If I had to guess I would say it's the comma in line 22

 
Last edited by a moderator:

M-HT

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
626
Location
Bratislava
Website
github.com
Edit: M-HT if you have the time could you run your doom test to be sure i didnt mess something up ;-)
Your build is about 2% slower than mine, but that could be because of different compiler (or measurement error).


I took a look at you pxml and in your old pxml you used two application ids - "pickle.dosbox" and "pickle.dboxfe".


In your new pxml, both applications have the same id - "dosbox.pickle".


I don't know if that causes the problem, but it's not correct.
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,493
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
Edit: M-HT if you have the time could you run your doom test to be sure i didnt mess something up ;-)
Your build is about 2% slower than mine, but that could be because of different compiler (or measurement error).


I took a look at you pxml and in your old pxml you used two application ids - "pickle.dosbox" and "pickle.dboxfe".


In your new pxml, both applications have the same id - "dosbox.pickle".


I don't know if that causes the problem, but it's not correct.
Well thats better than 20% ;-)


Indeed the app ids were and issue, but ive fixed it and all is up on the repo now. Thanks for your work on this.
 

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,119
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
THX for updating Dosbox and finaly puting it on the Repo, I missed it there. :)


Now it's time to play Commander Keen 4 on Pandora... ^^
 

Caine

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
4,138
Location
Netherlands
Thanks for this awesome update M-HT, and thank you Pickle for the quick update.


Almost every time I visit these boards someone posts a thing that makes me happy, either Pandora related or otherwise. Today, the honour goes to you guys :)
 

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
So whats the most recent game playable now? Comparable to faster than the recent qemu?


(and presumably, no directx or ancient 3d APIs map to GLES or even GL on desktop, right?)


jeff
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,119
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
So whats the most recent game playable now? Comparable to faster than the recent qemu?


(and presumably, no directx or ancient 3d APIs map to GLES or even GL on desktop, right?)


jeff
Good question. How about a speed-comparing between Pandora (DOS) quemu and Pandora DosBox? :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top