Dead Pixels On Gp32


DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
schaap2005 posted on Apr 7 2005 at 05:19 PM said:
Hi, does the gp32's have a lot of dead pixels, or none?

The GP32 is not any more likely to have dead pixels than most other devices such as PPCs, Palms etc. The PSP is the one which seems to have a huge problem with dead pixels. I had to go through 3 PSPs to get one with *only* 1 dead pixel and alot of dust and smudges in the screen, that was the "good" one. The GP32 is pretty good though.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
schaap2005 posted on Apr 7 2005 at 05:31 PM said:
OK at so I don't have to expect as much dead pixels as the psp has?


No way not even close. You could could always "luck out" and get a bad one but it is not likely.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,641
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
I usually am lucky enough to have at least one dead pixel when I buy a new device.

However, none of my 3 GP32s have dead pixels.
 

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
I don't think we have ever had one out of thousands, GP might be using grade 1 screens which are dead pixel free from the factory, they could probably save some money going down sonys route.

-Craig

www.gbax.com
 

Prophet

God I'm old.
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
1,712
Website
Visit site
Of the 3 GP32's I've personally seen there were zero dead pixels.

Same with the Zodiac, dead pixels are extremely rare there too.

Sony obviously is buying lower grade screens (in terms of quality control) to keep the PSP manufacturing costs down. So dead pixels seem to be pretty common on PSP. What a shame, the screen is so nice otherwise.
 

Steve-O

Very Active Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2003
Messages
4,054
EvilDragon posted on Apr 7 2005 at 05:55 PM said:
I usually am lucky enough to have at least one dead pixel when I buy a new device.

However, none of my 3 GP32s have dead pixels.

yup thats the strange thing, You can pay upto $400 on a high quality LCD Screen and it can have a dead pixel, or $230 on a PSP and it has a dead pixel, then you can buy a GP32 for $100 and its cheaply put together yet it doesnt have any dead pixels :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DRK

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
175
Age
34
Recently i saw a GP on ebay - it didnr had a dead pixel - instead a dead column! :blink:
 

DemonStar55

chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai chai
Joined
Nov 24, 2003
Messages
1,889
Age
32
Location
Wrentham, MA
Website
demonstar55.phpnet.us
DRK posted on Apr 7 2005 at 02:34 PM said:
Recently i saw a GP on ebay - it didnr had a dead pixel - instead a dead column! :blink:
maybe it was a BLU+

but I don't think I have any dead pixles never really noticed if I do have one
 
Last edited by a moderator:

geo12

Retrofuturist
Joined
Dec 27, 2003
Messages
713
Location
Ithaca
Website
Visit site
you would probably notice if you have a dead pixel, my cousin got a dead pixel on his DS just a couple of days after he got it, i dont know if he got a new one or not.
 

tekt5

NazcaBeer Spokesman
Joined
Feb 9, 2004
Messages
1,085
Age
32
Location
USA
Website
Visit site
the only handheld I've ever had was my gb pocket..
it had a 2x2 square of dead pixels.. but thats cause I dropped it :lol:
 
Top