Caanoo - A Fail Console?

Discussion in 'General Talk [GPH]' started by djelectric, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. Orion4874

    Orion4874 Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,426
    Location:
    North Brunswick, New Jersey
    Oh man, now you have to finish it! It'll give me a reason to by one of those Buffalo adapters and toss the overly large official dongle.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  2. hi-ban

    hi-ban Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    it has been like that since always.... but they were called 'Game Cartridges' instead. :lol:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  3. gaterooze

    gaterooze Coltrane Sundia

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    Only an Aussie will get that.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  4. Dunny

    Dunny Exophase ApprovedĀ® Forum Troll

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Broughton, Brigg, UK
    Given my animated avatar, I'd have thought it was more obvious than that.... but yeah, that was a rather poor attempt :)

    D.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  5. u9i

    u9i Call me Uni

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    Hehe i know. But there is no reason not to improve it.

    Not that this should be part of the discussion, but i thought i'd share the state of my sd card with you all:

    3586gdl.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  6. hi-ban

    hi-ban Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Oh man! Your SD card wants a replacement!
    i see why you're not happy inserting and removing it...

    what did you do with it to have it like that? :eek:
     
  7. u9i

    u9i Call me Uni

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    Because it is so recessed i used my nail to reach it... bad idea! That is what happens over a longer period of time.

    I think i have to move it to some other device where i don't need to remove it all the time, like my video camera :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  8. torpor

    torpor hack hack hack, the little machines fight back

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    vienna, austria
    u9i: GIMME!! :)
     
  9. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    @u9i: why do you remove your SD each time you want to add something on it ? i've put one SD card in each of my two caanoo(s) and never removed them again (i'm using ethernet over usb, and i just need to plug my USB cable).
     
  10. Popcorn Dave

    Popcorn Dave Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Well, if you're using Gmenu, adding files via USB is a right drag. You have to turn on the Caanoo, then turn OFF Gmenu, then move the files over, then turn the Caanoo off again, then on again. I like Gmenu but I don't use it these days because I couldn't be bothered with those extra steps (when all it really offers is looking a bit tidier and letting you separate games and emulators like GPH should have done in the first place); maybe u9i is still using it.
     
  11. u9i

    u9i Call me Uni

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    I was using an old old version of Jolicloud, which was so broken that it wouldn't mount my caanoo anymore, when i plugged it in. So i used the card reader... until that didn't stopped working. Now i am finally running an ubuntu variant again. Still waiting for eeebuntu 4 to come, but i probably shouldn't hold my breath. Good news is i don't have to remove my SD card anymore to install games.

    /Uni
     
  12. alyinsanfran

    alyinsanfran Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Pacifica, Northern California
    I've seen that happen with one of my (many) SD cards. Cheap manufacturing I guess, just glued together? Mine split just like that. Still worked though!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  13. coldfish

    coldfish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    ;) Works for me. :p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  14. traylorpark

    traylorpark Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    571
    I gotta question, anybody get a Caanoo with a thumb stick that can get stuck in the down position (like if you push it down and take your thumb off, doesn't totally re-orient itself).
     
  15. u9i

    u9i Call me Uni

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    You mean the button on the joystick, or the down direction on the joystick itself?

    My stick always registers a little to the right :( If i move the joystick around and then release it, it goes to the center, but after a while it slowly registers to the right. Guess I gotta return it for a repair (again).
     
  16. superhyper

    superhyper Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Mine actually did that right out of the box, but seemed to resolve itself after a few hours of use. If it's consistently doing it to you it sounds like it may need to be reseated :/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  17. blues2

    blues2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    bronx
    that's one of the problems all analog sticks have. even current consoles like the ps3's and xbox 360's analog sticks will wear out and become off centered over time. it just doesn't effect gameplay because there is a good deadzone in place. my caanoo is slightly off centered to the right by probably micro millimeters but it's only noticable in emulators or apps that don't have any deadzone.
     
  18. tryone

    tryone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Asteroid Military Mine - sol systhem
    My brother's caanoo's stick is also a bit off centered. It moves all the time to the bottom. As you allready mentioned it is all a question of the deadzone. All emus and games with a working deadzone you can play fine, but without it's not possible

    FOR ALL DEVELOPERS: INCLUDE A DEADZONE IN YOUR PROJECTS. AND USE IT AS A ANALOG NUB, NOT AS A DPAD IF POSSIBLE. :) PLEASE!
     
  19. u9i

    u9i Call me Uni

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    757
    Location:
    Faroe Islands
    Do you have any idea for a good analogue stick game?
     
  20. crow_riot

    crow_riot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    .at
    something "simple" like http://minigore.blogspot.com/ ? :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...