Armedslack

Deyna

Still Fresh
forgive me if this is a dumb question but what are the chances of someone getting ARMedSlack on the Pandora?
i'm new to Linux but i've got my laptop set up in a dual boot with Windows 7 and Slackware 13 and i would love to have my Pandora running Slackware as well. i'm no programer (though i do know the basics and am (slowly) learning C++) so i could not do it myself.

There isn't much advantage to running your own distro on the Pandora - the one on there has been tailored to work well with it. If you really wanted, you could probably install it to an SD card and set up all of the PND stuff. That would be a lot of work though, for not terribly much gain (IMO).

Not -that- brutal really,but a pita for sure :) really could probably get a quick hack up pretty quick...

- use official kernel, k modules
- ignore libpnd to start, but adding pnd stuff is *trivial*
- boot.. Wih lots of errors :)

certainly if someone wasmotivated it's doable. I mean, both cpasjuste and djwillis brought up android with a few hours of hacking :)

jeff

You are new to linux and your first choice of dist is slackware?.. Why?

edit: or why slackware at all?

At the moment armedslackware is one of the few distro that is still using the old abi (aka OABI) instead of the new EABI. Most of the distro use the former that is more "optimized" for arm.

So installing armedslackware means:

- slower software
- not binary compatible

So I don't see the point atm in installing slackware on pandora.

Oh, yes, the memories... good ol' Slackware.

Was my first Distro as well; used to be a FreeBSD guy until I discovered Linux (Don't know how I'd missed it) and at that time the only real alternatives were Mandrake (aka Mandriva nowadays; I always thought it sucked), SUSE (kinda, sorta; not really stable or freely available), Debian (Should've been my first choice but it wasn't for some reason) and Slackware.