Release Aquaria


sswam

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
1,392
I have spare humble indie bundle 1,2,3 keys, the bundles included previous bundle as a bonus! and gave separate keys.

So yeah PM me if you want some free HIB games including Aquaria.

FWIW the steam version of Aquaria works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

dummi

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
141
I'm a little bit unsure, but i have the feeling that something with collision detection doesn't work correct. in the game are passages which are blocked by rocks.Later in the game it can be moved, but at moment the character can move through the rocks. All the other collisions works fine, I think.
 

emphyrio

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2007
Messages
100
Thanks for this Great Release! Aquarias music and pandoras sound hardware truly suit each other.

Is it possible to set the right nub for singing instead of right shoulder+movement?
 

sswam

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Messages
1,392
I played a LOT more Aquaria after this port, admittedly not on the Pandora - it's still a bit too slow with the older SoC, at least.

Quite a demanding game with all the GL textures and such I guess.

For me, this is a really big game!  it's taking me a long time even though I'm cheating and reading walkthrough notes for some of it...

There's one point the guy missed in the walkthrough...

You can avoid trouble in a certain very spiky place by switching to nature form... anyway... whatever!
 

PaulForey

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
74
I absolutely love this game, and it's so great to see it on Pandora. However on my 600MHz Rebirth unit it's definitely too slow to be playable. Moving around in empty areas feels too "sludgy", and fights with multiple enemies are basically impossible.

If there's any way you can optimise it, I would be incredibly happy (and a willing tester if you need one).
 

rohezal

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,678
Does the "use the native compressed format of the SGX" trick and the "reduce texture size to the half" trick improves the speed a bit? My guess is that most performance is lost in the alpha blending, since the SGX is quite slow at it. An ugly hack, but can you use simple transperent pixels (like in gifs) to get more performance, for lower quality pixels? Or is it not supported by the gpu?
 

Magic Sam

Forever Homebrew
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
2,265
Age
38
Location
Innsmouth, MA
[bump]

Hi,

Thank you lunixbochs for this great port :)

It's a little too slow @ 600 MHz though, are you still working on optimizations  ?

Bye, Magic Sam

[/bump]
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,104
Age
39
Location
49.491276,8.423518
It's a little too slow @ 600 MHz though, are you still working on optimizations  ?
All Software for for Pandora runs a very little faster when you start them from Mini Menu ^_^

Have you tried to disable Zram before starting?

And plz make the newest "Ugrade OS" today,because there are Alsa Sound Speed Patches ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rohezal

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,678
I would realy love a "get most performance" button. With disabling zram, overclock the gpu / ram and set the cpu a high stable value. Maybe an other option in the zenity script where you can choose your cpu profile (600 opp3, 800 opp5, 1000 op5 ...)?
 
Top