1gb Sd Pretending To Be 4gb


lintsniffer

Duke Nukem 3D = Crazy Delicious!
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
495
Age
31
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Website
Visit site
I ordered a 4gb ADATA 150x from zipzoomfly. I couldn't format it to 4gb because I was using the gp2x as the card reader. My dad has it at work right now and says that it can't be formatted for more than 1 gb. Does anyone else have one that got formatted to 4gb? Any help would be appreciated, because I really don't feel like sending it back, but I will if I have to... :(
 

jamesthejust

Still Fresh
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
28
lintsniffer posted on May 30 2006 at 10:29 PM said:
I ordered a 4gb ADATA 150x from zipzoomfly. I couldn't format it to 4gb because I was using the gp2x as the card reader. My dad has it at work right now and says that it can't be formatted for more than 1 gb. Does anyone else have one that got formatted to 4gb? Any help would be appreciated, because I really don't feel like sending it back, but I will if I have to... :(

What software are you (or your dad) using to format the card?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
T

TelcoLou

Guest
Get a card reader ... unless your dad IS using one, in which case ...

Get a better card reader.

(I had one, it broke, so I was using the USB connection until I got a new one ... man O manoschevitz, was it sllloooooowwwwwwwww!!!)
 

Loubear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
1,079
Location
New Jersey, USA
I had the same problem with version 2 firmware. All of a sudden, it stopped at 1 gig. My solution was to just get a card reader, and it showed as 4 gbs again.
 

reallynotnick

The smartest newb
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
871
Website
Visit site
Whats the problem with a 1gb card turning into a 4gb card? *looks at title*

Anyway try quickformate, I heard that worked for windows people. *smiles at mac*
 

deepmenace

Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
241
Age
43
Website
Visit site
i've got 2 card readers - one wont read my 4gb card when its formatted to 4gb, the other one works fine.

buy another card reader.
 

Qingdan

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
93
You've got a mistake in your topic's name ...should be the other way

"4GB card pretending to be 1GB"

because a 1GB being 4GB big would be sooo cool :) :)

@Lintsniffer : love your sig :) :)
 

lintsniffer

Duke Nukem 3D = Crazy Delicious!
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
495
Age
31
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Website
Visit site
PSP hah I laugh.

In disk management it sees a 1gb partition and a 3 gig unallocated partition. Is there a way to completely wipe the SD and start over with a 4gb format now that I have a card reader?
 

nubie

Recovering Jerk-A-Holic
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
2,749
Location
USA California
Website
Visit site
xinfernoofdantex posted on May 30 2006 at 03:13 PM said:
I know the PSP is so huge, I would hate to have to carry it around, I am 6' and 265 pounds, if the PSP>me I wouldn't want one. On the other hand, quantity for money it would come out way ahead of GP2X ;)

Fanboi and Noob explosion this week, must be because of the fact it was "just launched" :lol: :lol:

Silly fanboy's, GP is for people who aren't lemmings (or who want to play Lemmings :D)

lintsniffer posted on May 30 2006 at 04:24 PM said:
PSP hah I laugh.

In disk management it sees a 1gb partition and a 3 gig unallocated partition. Is there a way to completely wipe the SD and start over with a 4gb format now that I have a card reader?

Delete the 1GB partition, then there will be 4GB unformatted space, right-click and format :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

lintsniffer

Duke Nukem 3D = Crazy Delicious!
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
495
Age
31
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Website
Visit site
Rarrg I HAVE A CARD READER! USE THE "READ THE POST" FUNCTION!

sdcard.jpg

this is the screen.
 

Loubear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
1,079
Location
New Jersey, USA
Well now you do, but not at time of your original post. This is simple, copy all your data somewhere on your computer harddrive, delete that 955 mb partition, and reformat the entire thing.
 

lintsniffer

Duke Nukem 3D = Crazy Delicious!
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
495
Age
31
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Website
Visit site
use your eyes
look at the screenshot
notice how 'delete' is grayed out?
yes you have harnessed the powers of the human eyes.
____

My problem is that I need a way to delete the partition and completely format over again now that I have a card reader that will let me format it to 4gb.
Does anyone know of any apps that will do this (I'm getting partition magic soon, but I want something free on the internet)

Thanks.
 
Top