GP2X You Want Make Games For Gp2x?

Website
www.digitalawakening.net
Can anyone get this thread pinned?

Introduction
Since there are some who want to develop games for GP2X but have no clue on how to do it or are looking at some simple solutions I would like to help them get started with SDL. I'm very new to this myself and I just heard about GP2X a few weeks ago. But I got some link recommendations from people on this board and found out that this wasn't as hard as I first thought.

So what is this SDL all about then? SDL stands for Simple DirectMedia Layer. Basically it makes 2D programming in C and C++ quite simple and it's supproted by GP2X. SDL also makes OpenGL easier but since GP2X is a 2D console we should stick to the 2D stuff. If you have any basic knowledge about programming then you shouldn't have much trouble with SDL once you get started. My precious coding experience is mainly Dark Basic Pro and PHP, not very advanced or low level like C/C++. You can check out my website if you want to see what I've done before.

Game development
For those who have never developed a complete game I would like to mention a few things before we start. It is quite easy to make a good game with some basic programming and art skills if you have a good idea and know how to make what skills you have work together. Game developing is mostly about structuring and composing. Structuring because there's a lot of things that needs to work together, you really should plan before you start. Composing because even simple things can look and work amazingly when you combine them, if one thing is great but the rest sucks then the whole game will suck or if you have only a few great things then it's barely a game.