Release WiFi Reconnector

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Here a script to auto-reconnect to the access point, for all the people that have problems with the integrated WiFi.

Sometimes the driver doesn't recognise the disconnection, and this is the reason why I made this program.

- old script -

I'm new to this kind of things and lost many hours on man pages and google to make this, but it's not finished, I want to make at least a PND with an ON/OFF menu.

Anyway it just ping the router address until the message 'Destination Host Unreachable' comes, and then restart the same connection.

No parameters are needed, just launch it like this in a terminal:

sh /media/<YourSD>/wifirecon.shTo terminate the script use CTRL+C or kill it.

(You can also launch it "Executing" the file from Thunar, but better not for now, cause you can't see the messages and there are bugs)

BUGS:

- Sometimes the script start to replicate itself...at every reconnection... so better open it in a terminal, so closing it's window will kill all the instances

I'm actually using this script and posting from my Pandora, cause I'm able to reproduce the disconnecion problem simply turning on wifi on the other PC and make it download with some p2p software.
Now the Pandora is disconnecting every 1/3 minutes, but I don't mind cause it's reconnecting automatically :)

Tell me what you think and what you find wrong.

EDIT: Seems I can't upload a bash script... so here the content, copy it in a text editor and save as "wifirecon.sh"

#!/bin/bash
#
# WiFiRecon ver.0.1a
# Script for Pandora
# by PowerGod (06/09/2012)
#
# Auto-Reconnection to WiFi
# when the address is unreachable
#
# Pings the router to verify the status,
# in case of no answer it reconnects
# to the access point
#

# Find if there's already an instance running
vlockfile=/tmp/wifirecon-lock

# Find if exist the lock file
if [ -f "${vlockfile}" ]; then

# Read the ID in the lock file
# to confirm that is already running