1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

What needs to be done before a Pyra prototype can be produced?

Discussion in 'Ask EvilDragon Questions' started by Mr_Loon, May 10, 2017.

  1. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,665
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    I run out of RAM all the time on my laptop with 4 GB of RAM. I keep a view up of current RAM and swap usage visible at all times so that I can close shit before the OOM killer gets to it :v
     
  2. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,409
    Once the prototypes are out, what is the timeline for the regular units?
     
  3. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9,986
    when they're ready, stop thinking in terms of deadlines...
     
    rygD likes this.
  4. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,409
    I was under the impression that if the prototypes worked then that meant it was ready for mass production. But earlier I remember reading that prototypes were guaranteed to come out at least a month before regular units.

    I'm not asking for a deadline, I'm asking if ED is going to wait to release the regular units even if the prototypes work well. Not asking for any dates.
     
  5. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,094
    It is in ED's best interest to have them come out, as soon as they can do so, in such a state that very few will come back.
     
  6. the_marshal

    the_marshal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Memory usage is obviously very dependent on the desktop environment and application you are running.
    Web Browser alone can use quite a lot of memory. Firefox currently using 1.2G on my system with ~30 tabs open. I don't consider that to be that many on a desktop, although what is likely more that I would use on the Pyra.

    What I am wondering is what would happen if you only had 2GB of RAM in your desktop system... just because application are not using all the ram does not mean the RAM is wasted. Caching can be extremely important for performance.

    Maybe this is somewhat off-topic but feel like sharing it as it really made me think about memory usage.
    I am working with OpenLDAP (a directory service) which has multiple database back-end available.
    One of them is BDB (Berkeley DB) while another (more modern) is LMDB (Lightning Memory-Mapped Database).

    The 2 database handle caching very differently: BDB has it's own internal caching while LMDB has no caching of its own and rely solely on the OS caching. So looking at the "real" memory usage of both database process does not show the whole picture.
    LMDB require that have some amount of cache in RAM if you expect any time of decent performance.
     
  7. Mr_Loon

    Mr_Loon Can't Remember

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,292
    We had some fairly detailed discussions here about the 'need' for 4GB of Ram.

    As mentioned in the above linked thread what I'm really looking forward to are some real world tests comparing the 2GB & 4GB versions showing things like the implications for battery life & swap file performance etc. Fingers crossed that the 4GB stability issues are solved soon.

    From a personal perspective I'd like to be able (eventually) to use the Pyra with a 'virtual machine' running Android with 1-2GB of dedicated Ram whilst being able to use the pyra with a 'desktop like' experience for multi tabbed browsing / image editing etc. under a Linux environment.

    It's fully appreciated though that for many users 2GB will be enough.

    FWIW I still maintain that having a 4GB option will be a huge boon for future sales of the Pyra and it is also worth exploring the idea of selling the 4GB version at a premium price and using the extra profits generated from the premium price to subsidise the cost of the 2GB version thus allowing the cost of the base model to be lowered. This could of course be done when Pyras are available off the shelf and the current non premium price of the 4GB version to be considered a pre order loyalty bonus. That does of course depend on whether the plan is to still produce the 2GB version as approx 98% of pre order sales are for the 4GB version.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...