Total Novice, Somebody Please Help...!

Gooner

Still Fresh
Hi peeps,

I recently purchased the GP2x Wiz. I am a bit of a computer novice, as much as I like to think that I am not! and am having a lot of problems loading games & various emulators. I have downloaded the various different emulators from them offical Wiz site. I have downloaded the games for the emulators from other various different sites. I have unziped them all, loaded them on to my Wiz. From all the different reviews I have read & studied I for some reason cant seem to get the emulators to work, my Wiz just freezes up and i have to switch it off and on agaion. I have been trying all nght long and am now seriously lost ! Is there a step by step guide that I could follow to see where I am going so wrong? or if somebody could take pity on me and lend a helping hand I would be forever greatful ! I luv the Wiz to bits, after reading & studying as many different reviews as possible I was aware that it will be a serious chalenge for me but I am determined to succed with it (with some help ofcourse)!

Thanks

Lost.com

It's impossible to give specific advice about every emulator in one post, but the first thing you should do is read any accompanying .TXT files.

Next check that you are putting the emulators and ROMs in the right places. Make sure that the emulators themselves are placed in the "game" folder on your SD card. Most emus will have a folder within them to place the ROMs - zipped or unzipped (some like MAME don't need the ROMs unzipping). This will usually do the trick. Don't just place all the ROMs onto the SD card and expect the emu to find them.

Be aware though that MAME requires that the ROMs are compatible with the version of MAME you are running. To do this requires a bit of work using something like - CLRMAME - http://easyemu.mamew...mame-guide.html

It might help if you concentrate on one emu (eg Megadrive) at a time until you get that working.

iprice said: