1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

The new website

Discussion in 'Ask EvilDragon Questions' started by Mr_Loon, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. Mr_Loon

    Mr_Loon Can't Remember

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Hi ED,

    Got a few questions regarding the new website.

    1) Is the new website difficult to update? I notice that the front page still refers to emulatators. Must admit that I rather like the sound of the word emulatators but it does strike me as being a little unprofessional that the official site cannot spell one of the devices main functions correctly. Minor point I know but little things like that do stick in the mind of potential customers. If the homepage of the new site is difficult to update then sadly it is not really fit for purpose.

    Edit : Emulatators is now fixed :)

    2) Is it possible to implement a consistent nav bar throughout the site & forums?

    3) It appears that all links and mentions of the repo have been removed from the website / Forum Nav Bar, is this deliberate?

    Answer from ED for Q3 :

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 23, 2013
  2. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,719
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    I have noticed this also strange that the links to software have been removed from the forum (apart from the rss feed)
     
  3. Al1975

    Al1975 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I was wondering if anyone else, apart from me, has noticed that the "Order" link only appears and works on the Firefox browser and not on Internet Explorer.  I'm sure you guys already know this right?  I use IE and am saving to buy a Pandora, but have just realised that I can only do this through Firefox.
     
  4. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    18,316
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Ah, nope, didn't know that :/
     
  5. Ghostcart

    Ghostcart Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Massachusetts, US
    It's a conspiracy by M$, I tells ya.
     
  6. dgame

    dgame Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Thanks for fixing the 'emulatators'!

    The new site is wider than the Pandora's screen in Firefox.

    The space between the feature labels and the stuff on the right could probably be reduced.

    Maybe move the FAQ, Contact, and forum links elsewhere and move the right side inward.
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    18,316
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, that's what only Gadgetoid can do.

    He created the website.
     
  8. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Germany
    The site is designed for a fixed width, not variable, so it probably makes sense to keep at the width it is currently at in order to look better on desktop browsers.


    Shrinking it to 800 pixels wide would look a bit small on a desktop. It's all a compromise in webdesign.
     
  9. dgame

    dgame Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    The new site is not fixed width. It shrinks if you adjust the browser size much like this forum does.

    However, at its smallest size it doesn't fit the Pandora's screen.

    The white-space in the middle could be reduced more when it is at its smallest size to accommodate the Pandora.

    Not a big deal just pointing it out in case someone was going to look at the site design again.
     
  10. Mr_Loon

    Mr_Loon Can't Remember

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Still wondering if the new site is fit for purpose, visiting it from the perspective of a new / potential customer makes me think that sadly it is not.

    Minor problem : In the small print at the bottom of the page is a carefully hidden link to the latest firmware, it leads here due to a typo : firmare instead of firmware.

    Still wondering if it would be possible to add consistent & relevant (link to repo etc.) navigation to the website & forum.
     
  11. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    18,316
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, I have a completely different page in mind, but I am no web designer nor can I really code web stuff.

    I'd like to integrate it more with the forum... i.e. have the same header with links, and more information below.

    The video is fine, well presented, but there's no consistency between the boards and the website, and a lot of information is missing there.

    I could ask Gadgetoid if he wants to work on a new page, or change the current one so that it does fit within the boards.

    The board software is pretty neat - you can use parts of it for your own website, so it should be possible using the header and top menu :)

    Otherwise, without anyone who'd really want to work on this, I can't do much.

    Fixed 

    Already is on the boards...?
     
  12. thatgui

    thatgui Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,824
    Just to Add to that

    IE8 and IE9 don't show the "navigation" on the right side of OpenPandora.org (including the "order now" button). Maybe thats something Gadgetoid has a quick fix for ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2013
  13. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,487
    >the video is fine

    Well, apart from it being flash. I saw some html5 video of the same thing here on the boards, what happened to that?
     
  14. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,028
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I disagree...  for one thing it doesn't seem to work in firefox on linux... - the sound plays but there is no video.   Given that you are trying to advertise what is essentially a linux pc, this would seem to be somewhat counter-productive.

    For another, I find websites that automatically play media like that very off-putting.

    To put it simply I do not feel comfortable directing  potential customers to that site. 

    - Neelix
     
  15. iprice

    iprice Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,215
    Location:
    MK. UK. OK.
    It's not just Linux; I reported this issue months ago for Windows. Seems it does work for some, but not all. Not good. :(
     
  16. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,786
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Works fine here on Firefox and Chromium under Linux..
     
  17. erico

    erico Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,390
    Location:
    Brasil
    Chrome + windows 7 here and it works fine.

    I would start the video without sound too, or wait for users to start it themselves.

    But it is not much of a problem, since everything is inside the screen, you can quickly see where the sound is coming from if you wish it off.
     
    Mr_Loon likes this.
  18. canseco

    canseco Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Spain
    Kubuntu 12.04 with Firefox, tried with flash and with webm, and video works fine.
     
  19. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,487
    It does work fine in flash and webm on debian iceweasel, but i would prefer if the latter was the default.
     
  20. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,028
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Not if there is nothing on the "screen"...
     

Share This Page