Software Restore

kev187

Ok... another question that may have been answered

I am a veteran computer user... mac, pc, & toyed with Linux a few years back.

In all 3 cases of good use, add/remove software, the machine runs best when the OS in cleaned out & re-installed.

So with our Pandora being very computer like with the options of installing programs, surfing the net, ect...

If we get issues with the OS over time, can the Pandora be wiped and restored?

Just thinking...

Yes, it can. You can run the OS from SD and keep one as clean as you like or have a back-up SD with a complete clean OS.

It probably also has the option to put the clean firmware on the NAND overwriting the old (however there are people here that know more about these things than me)

btw, i waas wondering if theres some sort of bios key lockdown for the system?

i want to keep my panda locked if it ever gets stolen/lost

Clean install in no time, you can clone it after you have it exactly how you want it also. Then re-install it or run it from SD card.

edit:
as WizardStan bellow mentions, see quick demo No installation required

Last edited by a moderator:
kevin J said:
If we get issues with the OS over time, can the Pandora be wiped and restored?
Very little should actually need to be "installed" onto the Pandora. Everything can reside on the SD card. Put in a blank SD card, and all your programs are gone, but you're basically back to a clean system. I believe the intention is that the only thing that should ever write to the NAND is firmware updates.