So What Are Your Credentials?

authoreyes

Website
www.markandmarina.com
Hey all -

Very happy to be a new member of your stellar community. I am a relative new GP2X owner, I'd say about 3 months now, and I must say, am completely taken with this little wonder machine. More specifically, however, I am amazed by the quality of the homebrew/emulators/ports. You people have done great work.

Which leads me to my question (sorry if this is worn territory), but what are the backgrounds/jobs of the devs here? I am curious, as I have a CS degree and have been working as a software engineer for most of my life, albeit web-centric job dev for a couple of the big online sites. My old C/ASM skills are rusty and meager, so I am quite impressed with y'all :) Are you mostly hardware/software/kernel devs? What brought you guys to develop for the GP2X?

Hello. Nice to 'meet' you.

I am not a trained programmer and I don't have a degree, but I think with an open source device like this you are missing most the fun if you don't give it a go. The possibility of being able to program it is the reason I got it. The emulation side of it does not interest me that much.

If you're really asking -- 'is this something I can do', then Yes. Just do it. No fear.

jeff

I'm a professional coder. Fear the parenthesis.

(That came harsh; I'm also the most sleep deprived here right now, I think. What I mean to say is .. go it, its fun, nothign beats handheld coding by the seat of your pants. You don't need ASM. You can do C, or Fenix or python or others. You'll do fine.)

Haha -