Resolutions

Silent-Hunter

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
3,089
What resolutions will the Pyra's inbuilt display support? Will I be able to change it away from 1280x720 using xrandr? I'd like to be able to temporarily change it to 1360x768 so I can use VNC from my desktop without having to pan.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,637
Well I know from using the Devboard, the SoC is capable of higher resolutions for sure, The LCD is a bit of an unknown to me.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,505
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Yes, and that part has 720 lines of pixels. If you want to show more on screen you'll need some kind of scaling going on I think, but I'm not a big user of xrandr myself, and I don't quite understand yet how the 720p internal screen and the 1080p HDMI socket relate, and what 'fullscreen' means if you've got both displays connected.
 

Silent-Hunter

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
3,089
Yeah I'm wondering because I tried it on my HP Mini and I just got this BadMatch X11 error when I tried to add the new resolution to the LVDS1 monitor in xrandr. It doesn't report EDID so maybe that's the problem. I was just hoping the Pyra would allow me to set it to higher resolutions and just downscale them to fit the screen.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,637
Well easy solution I came up with is I just run 1280x720 vncserver on my Linux box as the OMAP5 devboard and my accelerated Amigas all run 720p monitors. I'm not screen sharing, I just run different desktops at that specific resolution.
 

NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
187
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
Quite some VNC clients are able to scale the remote screen to fit the local one so you don't habe to pan (like the implementation in Remmina for example). Switching to a higher resolution than the panel is made for does only work on old CRTs if I remember correctly.
 

Silent-Hunter

Hardcore Member
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
3,089
I tried using ssvnc which supports scaling, but the performance was not good compared to xtightvncviewer, which doesn't support scaling. But I can try it again on the Pyra, it's more powerful than this HP Mini.
[doublepost=1549913679,1549913603][/doublepost]
Well easy solution I came up with is I just run 1280x720 vncserver on my Linux box as the OMAP5 devboard and my accelerated Amigas all run 720p monitors. I'm not screen sharing, I just run different desktops at that specific resolution.
Unfortunately my desktop is Windows, which I need for using Moonlight/Nvidia game streaming, and certain games.
[doublepost=1549913844][/doublepost]Also, I can switch my main monitor on my desktop to resolutions higher than it supports, so I know some things support it. I suppose the best course of action is to wait until my Pyra is here and just try it.
 
Top