Quake On Gp


narmak

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
173
I was searching for quake on emule the other day, when amazingly i ran into a gp32 version, i ran it and it booted into the quake loading screen, and just froze. Has anybody tried it, and does anybody know if it's default clock is set to 166? thanks.
 

ThndrShk2k

The Awesome Guru
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Messages
626
Location
Pants
Website
Visit site
doom isn't 3d anyway, it's sort of Moch3d or such. if you noticed you couldn't have rooms below you *like a whole room below you, where you are standing* so it was weird and shizz muh nizzle
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
GP Quake was released along time ago, it was in very early stages and for some reason only worked on 32mb SMC's, or maybe it was 16mb. Anyways, it's cancelled.
 

khephren

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2003
Messages
593
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
Quake was a quick port from the (floating point) pocketPC port, hence it runs like a dog. The pocketPC version has since had the floating point maths taken out, until someone ports the new code, quake is not worth touching i'm afraid.
 

Inopia

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 15, 2003
Messages
264
Doom is not a raycaster. It just renders the BSP tree, and fills in the floors with some sort of floodfill algo
 

NiN^_^NiN

YOUR AUSSIE GP32 GURU!!!!!!!!&#3
Joined
May 30, 2003
Messages
1,008
Age
38
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
ninja.doomportables.org
A while ago i tryed to get the gp32 sources compiled then start to replace it with the new non floating point code but i could never get it compiled and alot of guysa tryed.

Guyfawkes got it to compile once and craigx said he would look at it after gpdoom but i dont think he will bother.

I might have another go at trying to compile it and see what happens.

Also it has a bug where only 32mb smc's work

but as far as i remember it played at 3 or 4 fps max but it looked nice on the gp32 :)

:ph34r:
 

Sonic-NKT

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2003
Messages
1,890
would still be a nice thing to play this on the gp32....
perhaps something for the next competition :)
 
Top