Software Quake 2 game controls not working (IOquake2 NanoGL)

Discussion in 'Support Area' started by alxm, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. alxm

    alxm Still making GP2X and Pandora games, stay tuned!

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Hi,

    I'm using the latest firmware SZ 1.76 and the IOquake2 NanoGL PND. I set everything up, I can start a new game and it seems to be running nice and smooth despite the long Loading screen :) However, the game controls (including dpad) don't work, only the keyboard does. Mouse inputs seem to be ignored, so I can't navigate the game's menu to set the controls manually.

    A search revealed a similar issue from 2012, related to the new 3.2 kernel and the way it exposes input devices or something like that. The PND seems newer than that though, any ideas?
    --- Double Post Merged, Jun 4, 2018, Original Post Date: Jun 3, 2018 ---
    In the meantime, Quake2 Yamagi from 2013 works fine, so that NanoGL pnd from 2015 is probably an upload of an older release. I'm impressed seeing this game on Pandora, runs about as well as the first Quake on Wiz/Caanoo.
     
    Tags:
  2. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,256
    @alxm I sort of recall the mouse modes not working at all on that port. I think the game needs the nubs set to joystick mode prior to launching the game.
     
  3. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,390
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    Yeah I would not use the nanoGL stuff its really from a phase where i didnt have any GL knowledge and used to get something working.

    The YQ2 is much superior in renderer and game logic. I should update to the latest version.
     
    Linux-SWAT and levi like this.

Share This Page

Loading...