Port request: mz800em

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by b_o_b, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,979
    Location:
    Italy
  2. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    He, sure, will go downloading them... and waiting for l'Abbaye des Morts  B)
     
  3. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    For info, I have experimented a bit more with wine. I found a couple of bottleneck (using the "perf" tools, makes life easier to find ressource hog), and I already have a better version.

    I get 60% speed with sound (using 48Khz sample rate, because you get no ressample that way), and 80% without sound (roughly). I'll try to get a few more fps, add maybe some more emu from the Takeda collection before repackaging.

    I'm also want to separate the Wine RunTIme and the PND that use it. Not an easy task for now...
     
  4. ...This has confused me somewhat. :blink:

    I have the gmz800.bin bios in roms folder for both the mz700 and mz800 emulators. All roms are zipped format and are mz700 . When opening either emulator, firstly I see Open MZ 700 list of roms, then I highlight that rom and OK it.Secondly,, I have the monitor screen scaled up but empty blue color.

    Is there a command I need to input to run these games? Pressing reset/F11 does nothing .

    I have the one suggested bios with my roms in the same folder then.. roms.txt separately all in appdata folder of course. So it's arrranged appdata> gmz700em or gmz800em >roms and rom .txt

    I have read these threads and though helpful I must be missing a tad of info.??

    Could not find any other doc. in menu.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  5. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Those emus don't support zipped rom format, you have to unzip first.
     
  6. I did  unzip now from  .zip > .mzf format but no good still  :(

    Must they be .bin? like bios?

    mz800.bin was the suggested bios prior to opening emulator ...it is 33kb though and the only one I could find. I could not open the emulator without it ..of course.. So I thought it must be the proper version.??
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  7. I hope I am missing a very small piece of the puzzle here  :huh:   ;) ??
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    33kb, no that not the good rom. the "Sharp MZ-800 BIOS" is 16kb exactely (it is in fact 3 part, one 8kb for mz800 specifics, one 4kb with bios from mz700, and the character romset of 4kb IIRC).
     
  9. Hmmmm......  IPL is looking for a program............................................. :(

    Sorry to bother..

    I selected a game unzipped in .mzf format. the monitor appears = FD :Not master

                                                                                                                  Please push key

                                                                                                                  F : Floppy disk [no response]

                                                                                                                  C: Cassette tape [iPL is looking for a program].....does it take a long time to boot?

                                                                                                                  M : Monitor [no response]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  10. I think the problem is that I need Pandafe for this emulator to function.

    Thanks for trying to help me ptitSeb but I think I will pass on this baby. :unsure:   :p
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2013
  11. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Well, not all games disk functions. For gmz800em, you can try Flappy.mzf. It should start automaticaly. If IPL is looking for something, that means something has gone wrong.
     
  12. Well after around 4 hours tinkering with this emulator I feel like CURLY of the Three Stooges. :eek:   :blink:   :wacko:

    Honestly and with all due respect to ptitSeb I just don't feel this emulator is worth the trouble for me just to play maybe one game named Flappy. 

    Seems like a lot for very little here. If I am wrong then I do apologize. This of course is just my humble opinion that nobody really asked for  :mellow:   :(

    With that said I did notice other versions of Flappy on the NES and Gameboy so once again Nintendo wins here  :p
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  13. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yes, this system (Sharp MZ800) is not well spread, and the emulator itself is a bit crude. Nothing out of the ordinary in this system (it's a typical 8bit system, with a relatively high res display, but no special graphic or sound capabilities), unless you grow with it and like to revive some memories with this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2013
  14. b_o_b

    b_o_b Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,295
    @ptitSeb
    I just noticed that after years of inactivity someone has been working on a new (or updated) MZ-700/800 emulator. The current version you ported is working but still a bit rough on the edges with some sound and timing issues. Sources are available - GPL

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/mz800emu/?source=typ_redirect

    Of course I will gladly do the testing if you are interested to port it to the Pandora :)






     
  15. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    @b_o_b : I'll see what I can do. It seems to use GTK3, so that maybe an issue on the Pandora...
     
  16. b_o_b

    b_o_b Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,295
    Oh bummer :( I was hoping it would be an easy port.
    Well hopefully it works out anyway. Thanks for giving it a try.
     
  17. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I got something, but it's super slow, and SDL2 (using FrameBuffer output) and GTK are fighting for the display, making it not really useable :( Not sure I can do something about that.
     
    b_o_b likes this.
  18. b_o_b

    b_o_b Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,295
    Too bad, would have been nice to have a more solid Sharp MZ emulator. Any chance this will work on a Pyra? Or is the slowness due to something else? You would expect emulating a Z80 computer should not need so much power.
     
  19. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,180
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The sound code was wrong for Linux. I have redone it. Now it sounds good. But the emu use SDL2, and the constant texture uploading seems to be killing it. Not sure I can improve anything more :( (I get 50% speed on Flappy now)
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2016
  20. b_o_b

    b_o_b Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,295
    Thanks ptitSeb. Based on your comment I assume the Pyra might help in this case. And then there is also http://homepage3.nifty.com/takeda-toshiya binaries. As far as I can remember that was working quite well, but too slow.
    Hope you will also 'give them a spin' on the Pyra once it is in your hands. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...