OMAP5432 at home !

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Linux-SWAT, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    The values that you can set the frequency to is defined in the device tree, it could always be added back by editing the device tree source and compiling a new device tree binary file.. You can easily change frequency on the fly with this command ex: sudo cpufreq-set -f 1.5Ghz , however it needs to be one of the frequencies defined in the device tree.  It's a bit less feature friendly than how we do it on the Pandora as on the Pandora we can set it to any speed within a range.


     
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2015
  2. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,224
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I would imagine you could still set the clock speed to anything you like,  but without that OPP you won't trigger a drop in operating voltage by dropping it that low.

    Or at least that's what I understood that to mean, based on how the OPP stuff works on Pandora. Am I misunderstanding something?

    -Neelix
     
  3. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    Notaz share this earlier:
    https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/arch/arm/boot/dts/omap5.dtsi?id=05e7d1a57a268b491d0e24952d219a73c62bd3df
    It is a part of the device tree setup for the omap5... speeds are hard limited to the values set in this device tree setup.
     
  4. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    It is very easy to modify the device tree to add back the "missing" values. You do not even need to recompile the kernel binary, just the device tree (DTC is available separately in Debian). And you may be able to use "device tree overlays".

    Then, the cpu-freq tool can under- and overclock the CPU. If you are very courageous, you could even invent a 700 MHz or 1200 MHz or even 2 GHz OPP...

    The bigger problem is if these modes can harm/damage the CPU. In the best case the kernel or user space or e.g. GPU will simply hang up sporadically. In the worst case the operation voltage does not match and adds thermal stress.

    This is what the "descoped" probably means, i.e. TI has not further studied their chips to approve additional operation points.
     
  5. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,199
    I unsuccessfully tried to reach 1.7GHz this way.
     
  6. ible

    ible professional vim user

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    oo, did not know about cpufreq stuff.  should be useful in other pursuits!  thanks for the info all.
     
  7. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Has it crashed?

    Has it failed?
     
  8. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    did it just overheat?
     
  9. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    If 1.69 GHz etc. work, I see no problem here. :D
     
  10. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,199
    ible likes this.
  11. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    I wonder how low we can set the voltage. With 500MHz, it should still be as fast or even a bit faster than a 1GHz Pandora, so lowering the voltage would improve the battery life, which would be great for stuff like classic console emulation.

    That said, we don't know yet how well powersaving of the OMAP5 works. Maybe it's unnecessary to lower the voltage and speed to 500MHz or even lower.
     
    rSl and ible like this.
  12. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    Well that is essentially what it used to do... when it ran at 500Mhz, it lowered the voltage to 880mV (880000 uV). I suppose lower voltages could be tried. 

     

    diff --git a/arch/arm/boot/dts/omap5.dtsi b/arch/arm/boot/dts/omap5.dtsi
    index 3bfda16..a4ed549 100644
    --- a/arch/arm/boot/dts/omap5.dtsi
    +++ b/arch/arm/boot/dts/omap5.dtsi

    @@ -45,7 +45,6 @@

     

    operating-points = <

    /* kHz uV */

    - 500000 880000

    1000000 1060000

    1500000 1250000

    >;
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2015
  13. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    500MHz Pyra is like 100Mhz Pandora? Sounds nice. Is this because of the 2 cores of the OMAP5? Well, if the target of 10hrs usage per charge is meant at max Speed (1.7 GHZ) then it could lead to alot more battery time for average tasks. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2015
  14. ible

    ible professional vim user

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    setting the clock speed would be a great option for the Pyra overlay.

    500 MHz - Ultra Low Power [if it won't break the device]

    1.0 GHz - Low Power

    1.5 GHz - Performance

    1.7 GHz - Overkill [if it won't break ...]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 8, 2016
  15. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    Actually benchmarks I've done the OMAP5 @500Mhz is faster than my 1Ghz Pandora Overclocked to 1280Mhz. It being dual core does play a big part, but generally the A15 is a better, faster core.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2015
    ible likes this.
  16. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,711
    Is that with multi-threaded benchmarks?  What about single threaded?  Two OMAP5 CPUs @500Mhz outperforming one OMAP3 CPU @1280 suggests one OMAP5 CPU @1000, which isn't really that much of a performance boost.  The A15 boasts 3.5 DMIPS per MHZ (up to 4.0) while the A8 only claims 2.0, and while benchmarks may not actually give us the advertised 75-100% increase I would still expect more than 28%.
     
  17. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    Benchmarks is poor wording... I was just timing compiling a program several times, with different amount of jobs(so multi-threaded) with the same compiler flags on the OMAP5 @500Mhz and the Pandora fully overclocked... If you or someone else could suggest something more comprehensive that even some chob like me could setup then I could do a better study.
     
  18. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,199
    I tested make and make -j4 on a x86 dual core, make -j4 was almost exactly 2 times faster so I think it's a reliable test.

    Anyway, there's the taskset command to select core usage if you want to test more precisely.
     
  19. lukey

    lukey Rare Species

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Germany
    Did you try "cpufreq-set -g userspace; cpufreq-set -f 1700Mhz" ?
     
  20. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,045
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Confirmed: Pyra can play much longer tetris than Pandora !!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...