OMAP5432 at home !

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Linux-SWAT, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    When rebuilding the kernel, is it mandatory to append the DTB blob to the end of zImage ?
     
  2. aTc

    aTc Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Not really, u-boot's bootz command can handle dtb files, the appending is more a hack for older bootloaders that don't have native support for it.




     
     
  3. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    Ok thanks.

    I'm still fighting to compile a kernel on the igep.
    I finally tried to compile their official kernel using gcc 4.9.3 natively, it just doesn't boot... I followed the strict instructions, nothing comes out after u-boot saying the kernel is loading.
    I don't understand why it's supposed to work with a toolchain, and it doesn't with gcc.
     
  4. aTc

    aTc Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Yeah, that's a bit of a problem with the 3.8 kernel, it just doesn't work when compiled with a more recent gcc.
    I crosscompiled my working 3.8 igep kernel with gcc-linaro-arm-linux-gnueabihf-4.7
     
  5. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    I was able to recompile the 3.8.13 using Slackware 14.0 and gcc 4.7.1 .
    Thanks.
     
  6. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
  7. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    Not perfect yet, random hangs.
    But at least it's a step in the good direction !!!
     
    bzar likes this.
  8. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    On the EVM, is the little battery near boot switches supposed to keep the time ?
     
  9. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    Well, not the battery is keeping the time - but it is intended to keep the RTC inside the Palmas running :)  What I don't know is if it is being charged. And the palmas needs a "rtc" node in the device tree.
     
  10. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    Each time I boot the device, the time is reset.
     
  11. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
  12. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    It's strange that it's still not implemented in the default dt.
     
  13. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    Indeed. Probably because nobody has submitted a patch for the omap5432 evm yet...

    There is some rework by the OMAP maintainers so that 4.4-rc1 (coming in 2 weeks) will have a new shared omap5-common.dtsi.

    This makes it easier to submit a proper patch. Although there should also be some palmas.dtsi which does not exist.

    Again something on our long to-do list (not at highest priority).
     
  14. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    Yup, this is good news.

    https://kernel.googlesource.com/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/tmlind/linux-omap/

    Any plan over heat management ?

    For now I use a dumb script, maybe you have something better :

    Code:
    while true
    do
     for t in $(sensors | grep temp | awk -F "+" '{ print $2 }' | awk -F "." '{ print $1 }'); do
      if [ $t -ge "90" ]; then
       echo "Too hot -" $(date | awk -F " " '{ print $4 }')
       cpufreq-set -u 1GHz
       echo "1GHz"
       sleep 30
      else
       cpufreq-set -u 1.5GHz
      fi
     done
    sleep 2 
    done
    
     
  15. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,474
    Just a curious seeing hns is watching this thread, why was 500Mhz removed as a valid frequency in the dt? 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2015
  16. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    No idea. I even don't know if it was ever included... If you find an answer (some TI guys probably know), please share.

    It could be possible to add it back. Notaz might know more about how to.
     
  17. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
  18. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,474
    odd... shame 500Mhz actually still had a bit of performance.
     
  19. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,189
    And it seems that 1.7GHz is also officially dropped.
     
  20. ible

    ible professional vim user

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,149
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    pardon my ignorance, but there was a way to run the CPU at 0.5 GHz?  (i assume that it would require less power, right?)  if we get proper 3D acceleration, that would still probably be plenty for certain games/activities...

    since it's a kernel thing, that means you'd have to reboot to get to these other frequencies, right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...