New Server!


EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,456
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
As I mentioned in my last newspost, I upgraded the server.

Tonight, I switched over to the new server (that's why we had a downtime of 3 hours).

Well, it looks like it went well. The new server seems to be A LOT faster (as expected) and everything seems to be working.

Let me know if you find any hiccups or issues :)
 

ible

professional vim user
Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
2,293
Location
Seattle, WA
feels very nice! me likey!
[doublepost=1478837338,1478836537][/doublepost]oh, but i can't seem to search the boards. i suppose it hasn't finished indexing...?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,642
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
I think there is an issue with the config of the new server. ptitseb.openpandora.org is redirected to drastic homepage.
 
S

sulu

Guest
One thing jumped to my eye:
Since yesterday or today the old forum URL "http://boards.openpandora.org/" don't redirect to this forum anymore.
It shows a strange Drastic Nintendo DS Emulator forum.
I had that in the morning (07:00 UTC) too. Now it redirects to https://pyra-handheld.com

http://stalker.openpandora.org/ currently redirects to the Drastic forum too.
Not for me. I never visited that site before, but what I currently see there seems to make sense to me (pre-order statistics, recent post titles).

I think there is an issue with the config of the new server. ptitseb.openpandora.org is redirected to drastic homepage.
I get a 403.

Maybe some DNS entries need a refresh?
 

Bernd

Very Active Member
Joined
May 4, 2016
Messages
195
This is no DNS cache isue.
I never visited this forum before.

Even with the IE, a browser I only used to download Firefox, this emulator-forum runs under this links.

Perhaps some DNS server (or the new pyra / pandora server) has some hick ups.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,456
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Well, then the DNS cache of your internet provider, possibly.
It can take up to 24 hours until all DNS servers in the net have updated.
The Drastic forums is the only site still on the old server, so if you land there, it means your DNS server pointed you to that IP and hasn't updated yet.
 

erico

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
1,740
Age
44
Location
Brasil
Website
sites.google.com
Same here, but I also think it was not a dns thing.
It is best to let people know about it, maybe tweeter or something like that, it could be very confusing to recently new users, specially those pre-ordering pyra.

...but I had lots of fun reading the drastic forum about people pledging help with a cracked/pirated copy of it.
(read fun as ´disturbing´ because it shows a lot of the human nature worldwide)
 

rygD

Nihilistic Mystic
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
7,453
Location
Everywhere
...but I had lots of fun reading the drastic forum about people pledging help with a cracked/pirated copy of it.
I read them too, after everyone said they were being redirected there, as I never was myself.
 

Shlee

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 27, 2016
Messages
56
Why in the name of all that is holy are you using 12 hour? TTLs on your DNS records?

Are you mad?
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12,282
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Touch wood, but I was getting some sort of an SSL entry too long error for most of today thus far. For the time being that seems to be fixed though, which is nice.

Edit: Seems off an on, although it's always possible something at my end is caching broken pages. FWIW: Error code: SSL_ERROR_RX_RECORD_TOO_LONG
 

PowerGod

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,374
Opera 12 complaints about the certificate :( Seems like it is registered to a domain but points to another

All the other browsers doesn't mind about that
 

Galaxis

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
313
Why in the name of all that is holy are you using 12 hour? TTLs on your DNS records?
Are you mad?
Seems perfectly sane for normal operations, but I agree it's good practice to reduce the TTL in time before a planned migration.
 

elvissteinjr

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
690
Age
24
Location
Germany
Opera 12 complaints about the certificate :( Seems like it is registered to a domain but points to another
Mine doesn't. Opera 12.18, Windows. As for the domain, it shows "*.pyra-handheld.com".
Though I'm not sure how you'd fix it.
 

PowerGod

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
3,374
Mine doesn't. Opera 12.18, Windows. As for the domain, it shows "*.pyra-handheld.com".
Though I'm not sure how you'd fix it.
I just have to accept the certificate everytime

EDIT: something seems changing, I see a different cert now

EDIT: now works without issues :D
 
Last edited:
Top