1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Server Upgrade (Jessie -> Stretch)

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by EvilDragon, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    As Stretch has just been released yesterday night, I've upgraded our webserver.

    So far, everything seems to work fine - but as usual, in case you find any problems, let me know :)
     
    Tags:
    TeDaDeS likes this.
  2. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,911
    Dunno if it's related to the update, but when using english, I have this:
    MegaDrive Audio-Fix (CCAM)
    Order now and receive it...
    between Dienstag 20 Juni and Mittwoch 21 Juni with UPS
     
  3. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Haha, probably, yes. And www.everdrive.de shows all dates in English, regardless the setting :D
    That's some fun weird thing to debug :D
     
  4. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,698
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Not sure if it's some cache somewhere that need to be cleared, but I cannot upload to the repo. I tried uploading from a network adress, and I just get a almost white page when I click "Submit" and nothing happens.
    upload_2017-6-18_16-53-27.png
    --- Double Post Merged, Jun 18, 2017, Original Post Date: Jun 18, 2017 ---
    Same behavour if I upload the pnd from my PC.

    I can't upload any pnd :(
     
  5. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    584

    OMG.... Noooo... Ptitseb builds everything!!!! (Also a few others, thank you all)
     
    FBnil and levi like this.
  6. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    806
    Location:
    Spain
    Confirmed, i have the same problem.
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Okay, I'll check that tonight..
    --- Double Post Merged, Jun 18, 2017, Original Post Date: Jun 18, 2017 ---
    Code:
     ap_pass_brigade failed in handle_request_ipc function
    Ooookay...
    --- Double Post Merged, Jun 19, 2017 ---
    Phewww. that was more work than I expected!

    Basically, Debian 9 only supports PHP7 now and while I had an older PHP5 version still installed, it was missing some extensions (like the needed imagick.so).

    So the better way was to fix the repo to be compatible with PHP7... most of that were small fixes (like removing php short tags, as php7 apparently doesn't like them) as well as changing the database calls.

    I've tested uploading a PND and it worked, so hopefully, it will for you as well :)
     
    Kippykip and canseco like this.
  8. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,053
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yeah, scripting language incompatibilities are often the cause of problems on upgrades. Well, Python2->3 was a jump for people that use python a lot, but that could be solved just by installing the right package and plugins and updating the magic line in each failing script to read 'python2' instead of 'python'. I guess Perl 6 might give a few headaches, but its stable spec release last christmas passed me by unnoticed these days, and it looks to me like Perl 6 will mostly run Perl 5 scipts fine, at least comparably to Python 3 if you added brackets to all of your python2 print statements. I note that my Arch machines haven't been punted on to Perl6 yet though, despite that having a stable spec since Chrimbo and various drops of the Rakudo Perl backend since then.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,698
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ah, the joy of php...
    Thanks for fixing it, it indeed works fine now :)
     
  10. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, PHP7 is MOSTLY compatible with PHP5, except for database changes (and for that, there exists a script that does these changes to your PHP files automatically).

    However, PHP7 is a lot more strict regarding code. I think they wanted to force the developers to not hack up some sloppy code, like missing '' or <? instead of <?php.
    It's a good thing for new code (as it makes reading foreign code more comfortable), but for old code, it's pretty annoying.
     
    Kippykip likes this.
  11. Hooka

    Hooka That Guy!

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Canada
    Still having some issues uploading a Pnd to repo I think... tried last night and again this morning, last night was just a blank page, now it gives me Error: You have not submitted a file! Filesize is greater than 50MB if that has anything to do with it...
     
  12. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,811
    rygD likes this.
  13. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Might be working now, please try again.
     
  14. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,471
    Location:
    Everywhere
    See everyone, this is how you test web browsing on a device. @ptitSeb, when you get the Pyra please drop us a line on performance and such every so often while the rest of us wait. Same for everyone else that gets em early. Prototype buyers, it would be awesome if you guys follow @Grench's lead by sharing your experiences so the rest of us can imagine what it is like to have a Pyra.

    Thanks for that post and link. I already put all my OS GUI thingies on the side to free up vertical space, and there are some great things mentioned on that page.


    Sorry for being off-topic.
     
  15. Hooka

    Hooka That Guy!

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Canada
    EvilDragon: Yup, worked just fine this time :)
     
  16. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,016
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Great, then it was a simple upload limit :)
     
  17. Björn

    Björn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    There used to be the option "short_open_tag" inside the php.ini to re-enable support for this. We need to set that for our company website as well, because our old code is full of those.
     

Share This Page

Loading...