New Noob Here

relliker said:
Will01 said:
I really have high hopes for this thing and hopes it becomes successful enough to warrent a cheap, less capable, chinese knockoff. :p

First of all Hi Will and welcome. If you judge by my no. of posts I'm still a relative noob here too BUT......much as I do hope that it becomes successful like you say, I sure do not want a cheap less capable chinese knockoff of it. There are already enough cheap Chinese gadgets for that. A cheap knockoff could kill this project and the hopes of the OP team to make a buck or two off it. The buzz being built around the Pandora is exactly because it was built after consultation with the community and a wishlist built by a lot of people on these forums. I don't see the Chinese as being able to create such a community buzz as the people who have designed and are developing for the Pandora can. For the Chinese, the knockoff would be just a way to make easy money from cheap labour and gadget-hungry Westerners. They would give a shit if a community is built around it or not as long as it sells AND most important, the Chinese make cheap knockoffs mostly because they just reverse engineer anything that falls into their grubby hands without any regards for the Intellectual Property of others (with no offence intended for any well-meaning Chinese here, I'm sure they will know to whom I'm really referring).

Will01 said:
I really have high hopes for this thing and hopes it becomes successful enough to warrent a cheap, less capable, chinese knockoff. :p