Beta Nestopia - For Openpandora *beta*

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by streak, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    Whats this:

    Nestopia is an open source NES/Famicom emulator designed to emulate the NES hardware as accurately as possible.

    Features:


    Nestopia emulates the NES CPU at cycle-exact granularity, ensuring full support for software that does mid-scanline and other timing trickery.

    Famicom Disk System support
    VS. UniSystem support
    NSF support
    Accurate video emulation, including artifacts of the NES's NTSC color encoder
    Savestate support
    "Rewind" support
    IPS patching support
    Movie recording
    Several non-standard controllers and peripherals
    Support for over 200 memory mappers
    Cheat code menu with built in Game Genie
    ZIP/RAR/7zip archive support

    Download: 4th Floor Development [Link for nestopia on wall ]
    Twitter: 4th Floor Development [Twitter]

    BTW. for fullspeed emulation please overclock OP to 800Mhz.
     
    Tags:
  2. Blue Protoman

    Blue Protoman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,119
    Wow, nice! Will check out when my RMA gets back!
     
  3. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,734
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    @streak the repo now supports the ISO PND's so please test :)
     
  4. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    OK, uploaded with picture. ..WORKS :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  5. Michoko

    Michoko Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    France
    Great work as always! Thanks for all your wonderful contributions to the Pandora community!
     
  6. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,734
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    Nice one :) get those pnds uploaded with screenshots :p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. Geca

    Geca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    Where is the download ? Social networks to download...
     
  8. budweiser

    budweiser GP32 Hardcore

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Arizona
    Please PND this and put on the repo ...Bud
     
  9. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    I have less time recently, so its hard for me to port everything and then packing it + uploading to repo. If any of you have the time to test apps + pack 'em into PND i would be gratefull.

    Currently i ported: [You can view progress in porting apps / games for pandora always on my FB page -> http://pnd.to/4floor ]

    - new atari 800 CVS build
    - DosBox CVS
    - MikMod Player
    - Reminiscence [Flashback]
    - RAW [Another World]
    - Kajaani Kombat
    - OpenTyrian
    - Stella [atari 2600 emulator ]
    - aSAP [Sap Atari Player]
    - FreeSynd [Syndicate]
    - ReMood [Doom Remix]
    - Rocks And Diamonds
    - SnowNews RSS Reader
    - XMP Mod Player
    - DJVIEW 4 - DJVu reader
    - Dooble Web Browser
    - Wolf4SDL [WOlfenstein3D]

    ..and a lot other wicked stuff for Panda [Mostly various QT apps].

    I dont publish em because i have no time to pack 'em to PND.
     
  10. skeezix

    skeezix Internal Development

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,060
    "Packing to pnd" .. for me, it usually takes about 5 minutes at end of first-build, and then 10 seconds each subsequent update.

    ie: I do it lamely, but I make a 'make pnd' step in makefile (same in all projects) or even just a makepnd.sh; that step is a single line to the pnd-build in libpnd and spits out the pnd-file. So the first time hit is copying a previous projects PXML.xml into the 'pnd' dir, and dropping icon.png in, and tweaking the run.sh scipt .. all re-used from previosu projects (cept the icon.)

    Its _really_ not all that bad ;) Really, seriously :)

    But I appreciate being stoopid-busy, and how it distorts life and makes everythign feel hard and annoying, so I'm with you :)

    jeff
     
  11. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,745
    Location:
    France
    in my toolchain, genpxml does not bad job generating your pxml and requiered launchs scripts. It even try to find the icon for you. pndmakeauto will build the PND, so for me, it's just a 2 mins job :
    genpxml
    vi that/PXML.xml #validate
    pndmakeauto
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  12. naples39

    naples39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    I'd be interested in trying this if anyone makes a pnd. Until then, I am too stoopid.

    Thanks for the work though.
     
  13. naples39

    naples39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    I did try this, but it seemed 800mhz wasn't fast enough, and I couldn't assign the action buttons. I had to assign keyboard buttons for NES A and B.
     
  14. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    "O" and "P" are A/B buttons. Try nestopia from http://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=nestopia-app with default settings [do not modify any] and check with OC on 800Mhz. For me it works fullspeed [checked Contra and some PD games from Kojote website -> PDRoms.de]
     
  15. naples39

    naples39 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    I just tried that download, same thing. Using Ninja Gaiden as my test game, not quite full speed. It's the scaling. If you turn off scaling the speed is good, but that leaves a very small image.
     
  16. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    StreaK: Did you look to into using Notaz SDL for scaling as an option? That would give scaling almost for free.
     
  17. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    Nope, i didnt tried it yet. Any www link?
     
  18. Mjlink

    Mjlink ithic.com

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Bernie Sanders' Land
    Any chance we can have non-keyboard buttons at some point?

    Thanks for all the hard work BTW!
     
  19. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/57506-improved-sdl/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  20. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    yes, of course. I need to dig deeper in source code..
     

Share This Page

Loading...