Release Navit


WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
Well, turning off the amp is a kernel feature. There are quick hacks to simply disable it, if you're up to compiling your own kernel it wouldn't be too hard to patch something in at a cost of some battery usage. Making it something that can be turned on or off at will would probably be a little trickier though.
 

Znirk

Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
286
Naive question: How hard would it be to have Navit play a second or two of silence before each announcement?
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
... ok, you win for pointing out the simplest answer. :p

I don't know offhand how difficult it would be, but it would certainly be easier and better than hacking the kernel.
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
4,079
Where's anyone getting this navit.xml config file from? I don't have one in my appdata

Also, how do you link up the GPS? I've paired the device (it's bluetooth)
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
Where's anyone getting this navit.xml config file from? I don't have one in my appdata


Also, how do you link up the GPS? I've paired the device (it's bluetooth)
Run navit then exit to make sure that the tempory directory gets mounted.

In the terminal, navigate to /mnt/utmp/navit, edit navit.xml and save it.

Now go look in the apps data, you should have a navit.xml file you can edit for future changes there.

Bluetooth is a bit flaky at the moment. my findings on bluetooth GPS connection issues are here: http://boards.openpandora.org/index.php/topic/11540-bluetooth-issues/

If you want voice navigation, you will need to install espeak. The instructions on the wiki are out of date, but if you search the forums, you will find more current instructions.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
I didn't get the XML config files altered :/

I tried to copy a new one to /pandora/appdata/navit and even to the ../.navit subfolder but that didn't worked.

What am I doing wrong? I want to apply my maps settings and add custom GUI settings etc...
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
Look at my last post and follow the instructions there. One must edit the existing navit.xml file in place before it will pay attention to the one in the apps directory.
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
Yeah, I'll make a change to that in a future release. For now, do as DAP says.
 

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
Ok I got finally it working with all features (OSD, TTS, ...) but I'm still on tuning a good pandora config (buttons, OSD, ...) that we might embedd to the PND directly

navit pandi osd.png

I wrote down the collected process here: http://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/OpenPandora

Comments&Critics are wellcome :)

BTW: @Wizardstan how about bringing this Port to the official Navit SVN and using the buildserver? User:cp15 is very happy about dev works and IMHO it's always a good idea for open* projects to keep things together (so easier to find and maintain)

http://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/Team
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
I'd very much like to see how you got the OSD working.

I had to switch to the desktop gui, but that does not work very well when driving. It won't update the display until the car moves off the visible map, and the faster you drive, the closer it zooms in (should be the opposite if not following a route, if following a rout, it should zoom to show your current position, and the next turn).
 

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
Well enabling OSD is basically just enabling the GUI internal and enabling the single OSD items in the navit.xml

You can tweak the update intervall, by setting the follow="10" attribute to the gui entry. This means, that it will refresh the map after 10 GPS updates, that is usually every second.

http://wiki.navit-project.org/index.php/Configuration/Full_list_of_options

Is anybody here able to look, if we might bring OpenGL ES support to the current OpenGL graphics engine?

http://navit.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/navit/trunk/navit/navit/graphics/opengl/
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
I had to install vim-syntax to make the xml file readable.

I have successfully enabled the zoom in & zoom out buttons (the lack of which was the primary reason I was using the desktop gui). Now I will finally be able to try out the built in GUI and the 3D view.

I added the follow="1" line, I'll find out tomorrow if that worked.
 

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
Sounds good :)

Well the 3D view ist currently just a 2.5 because it's a simple transformation to get some pitched perspective. Real 3D is possible, but for that we need still a lot of work (ext. binfile format, better OpenGL ES support, UX concept, ....). But you can check this out: http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/3D_Development
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
Follow="1" did not work, or perhaps I did not put it in the correct place. I put it in the line where I enable the GTK gui.

I then switched to the internal gui, but I did not have a follow there, and the display still only updated when the current location was off screen.

I have added the follow="10" line to the internal gui, but I won't be able to try that until tomorrow.
 

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
Well the following attribute is within the <vehicle> tag. I use 5 so that not every move needs to redraw the map.
 

abc

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
331
I noticed, that the navit.mo file is still missing for the xgettext translation. Can anybody help plz?
 

DAP

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
430
Well the following attribute is within the <vehicle> tag. I use 5 so that not every move needs to redraw the map.
Thanks for that. I'll find out tonight if this works.
 
Top