1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Release MotoGT

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,477
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is MotoGT, a Topdown action motorbike game.

    [​IMG]

    Note that the give is quite memory hungry, so you will probably need a swapfile on CC, and it may be not really playable anyway due to the swapping.

    Also, you may want to reduce the SFX detail (especially if you are not on a Gigahertz model), or the rainy circuit may be too slow to be fun.

    History log
    =========

    Build 02
    -----------

    • Fresh build
    • Updated libs (gl4es)
    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build
    • Many resizing of screen
    • Some Pandora adaptation
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2017
    Tags:
  2. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Good job. I wonder why such really simple games can be so resource intensive...
     
  3. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,477
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The actual track is a very large bitmap, splitted in sub bitmap, and builded by the software at 1st run. To avoid long 1st load time, I prerendered all of them (at the expense of the size)...
     
  4. lunixbochs

    lunixbochs Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    740
    Texture compression?
     
  5. Rockthesmurf

    Rockthesmurf Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,091
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    If not 'proper' texture compression, from the screenshot something like RGB565 looks like it might work reasonably (or RGBA4444 if there is alpha on overlay layers).
     
  6. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,750
    Maybe it should be in the Arcade category like F1 spirit, not in Simulation and Strategy...
     
  7. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,477
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yeah I hesitate. But arcade is super full, and simulation almost empty. I can still change category at next release...
     
  8. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,750
    You can put both in sports...

    Or puzzle, maybe ;p.
     
  9. F_Slim

    F_Slim IDDQD

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Germany
    It's finally time to add a "Racing" category! :)
     
  10. alxm

    alxm Still making GP2X games!

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    I could always find what I wanted much easier in the old GP2X archive than in the Pandora repo, I wonder how all these categories were chosen.
     
  11. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,750
    It's about freedestkop categories.
     
  12. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9,922
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2014
  13. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,240
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
  14. F_Slim

    F_Slim IDDQD

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    Germany
    "Free" as in "has to fit in one of the categories" :p
     
  15. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,427
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    'Action' is not nearly as full as 'arcade' is on my Pandora. I did once try to write .ovr files for all the things in the 'arcade' category which weren't arcade games, or ports of them, but I gave up - there are just too many!


    Edit: Or apparently there's a 'sportsgame' category. I don't recall anyone using that yet.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 16, 2014
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,477
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I have updated the build on the repo. There is no newer sources, but it use newer libs (like latest gl4es) and it's built with gcc 7.1 (it's GPU limited anyway).
    Seems to run fine on Gigahertz. I think you still need a swapfile on CC (or maybe change the SGX graphics driver).

    Build 02
    -----------

    • Fresh build
    • Updated libs (gl4es)
     
    FBnil, ingoreis and atari_afternoon like this.
  17. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,427
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yes, runs fine on my GHz unit. I may need some practice to be competitive though!
     
  18. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,477
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yeah, a bit difficult at start, but all in all a pleasant game (and there is not much motorbike games, or topdown racing games).
     

Share This Page

Loading...