MiniMenu / Simplified UI


pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
Is there a desire for a MiniMenu like UI? If so, but nobody is in (Skeezix?), I could work on something similar (like my Tournament Hub).

I've had help with the dependancy thing over the last couple of projects, so I could probably make something stable if it's desired?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ghostpatch

Active Member
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
557
Location
Germany
@ pmprog

your tournament hub looks great! Is it possible to switch background colour? I prefer dark ones
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
your tournament hub looks great! Is it possible to switch background colour? I prefer dark ones
There was an option to have both. But due to dependancy issues, it didn't run on a number of Pandoras. Then I got distracted with writing Sky Supreme for a party, and when I released that on the Pandora, there was talk about the libraries - and with the KeePassX release, I think I finally understand what libraries I need to include.
I may come back to Tournament Hub if people still want it. TBH, I've not touched any of the C4A stuff for months.
 

Fzero

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
4,703
I'd like minimenu, I like to boot up into that a lot, when I know I'm just going to be playing games for the day.

I only just seen that Tournament Hub too, it looks really nice
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
I'd say let's take minimenu as a  base and improve it.
From the other thread:

I would like to be involved with this (see my other thread). I guess to do that though, you'd need to know the specs of the PND/PYRA package format(s) going on in the other thread.
It would be nice if you could start on top of the minimenu code (and maybe make your changes backward compat :p )
Well, going back a while, I was talking to Skeezix when I was hacking in my WiFi menu, and he mentioned about rewriting with support for plugins etc. Might be a good time to address that?
 

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,238
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Perhaps this could be accomplished with a panorama interface?  Panorama is a plugin engine to begin with,   so it would a good base for creating such an extendible interface.  (and it is after exactly what Panorama was designed to do in the first place)

- Neelix
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
I cloned Pandorama (or should I say, I cloned the PNDManager), not had chance to see if I can actually build it yet, but sure, it's certainly something to consider.
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,095
Age
39
Location
49.491276,8.423518
I use often Mini Menu because Cpu intensive Things work nearly ever a bit faster from it.

Example: Qemu,Reicast,some Betatesting PNDs and and and....

I would love when someone can do it more minimalistic for more Speed ;)

I am shure there load Things in the Backround who are not realy needed.

A simply PNDstart Gui is what i mean.

No great OS,simply start your PNDs with the fastest what Pandora can ;)
 

Askarus

Hardcore Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,422
Location
Germany
I use often Mini Menu because Cpu intensive Things work nearly ever a bit faster from it.


Example: Qemu,Reicast,some Betatesting PNDs and and and....


I would love when someone can do it more minimalistic for more Speed ;)


I am shure there load Things in the Backround who are not realy needed.


A simply PNDstart Gui is what i mean.


No great OS,simply start your PNDs with the fastest what Pandora can ;)
I don't think it'll make any difference on the Omap 5 any more.

Maybe check out the Menus the DS flash cards use.

Maybe we could get some ideas from them.

Always could use them easily even as a child with no experience.
 

commander-beef

Very Active Member
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
964
Location
Polandowo
I use often Mini Menu because Cpu intensive Things work nearly ever a bit faster from it.


Example: Qemu,Reicast,some Betatesting PNDs and and and....


I would love when someone can do it more minimalistic for more Speed ;)


I am shure there load Things in the Backround who are not realy needed.


A simply PNDstart Gui is what i mean.


No great OS,simply start your PNDs with the fastest what Pandora can ;)
I created a gui for reicast, but it is still WIP, so theres no release as PND yet..
 

bzar

A Commando
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
4,462
Location
Finland
Website
Visit site
Perhaps this could be accomplished with a panorama interface?  Panorama is a plugin engine to begin with,   so it would a good base for creating such an extendible interface.  (and it is after exactly what Panorama was designed to do in the first place)

- Neelix
Funnily enough, the current Applications-plugin would work out of the box for both deb-installed applications and PNDs alike without any changes :)
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
Funnily enough, the current Applications-plugin would work out of the box for both deb-installed applications and PNDs alike without any changes :)
Okay - So all done then ;) What's next?
 

bzar

A Commando
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
4,462
Location
Finland
Website
Visit site
Exactly. There are a few incomplete ones in Panorama's interfaces, but to truly make one for daily use I think a couple more plugins would be useful. One being a network plugin for configuring wifi and stuff, another for the "menubutton" stuff that's in pandora currently. If someone makes a network plugin that can reliably tell me whether there is a network connection available, I'll integrate it to PNDManager as well to make a smarter "offline mode" :p .
 

pmprog

DNF (Did Not Finish)
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
3,974
If someone makes a network plugin that can reliably tell me whether there is a network connection available
Still need to try and build PNDManager first, but I could have a go with that.
 

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,805
Age
39
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
If someone makes a network plugin that can reliably tell me whether there is a network connection available,
Dont know how to make a plugin, but in a shell script, you could go this way :
Code:
if [ $(/sbin/ifconfig |awk '!/127\.0\.0\.1/&&/inet add/'|wc -l) -gt 0 ] && ping -qc 1 repo.openpandora.org;then
 return 0
else
 return 1
fi
 
Top