Mame Pacman Driver


Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
Woohoo, following snaffs xmame hacking about directions, I sooo just got pacman working on the GP2X.


woohoo :)


And Pengo works too :))))







All run at full speed (but you have to have the GP2X on its end) :-(


EDIT: MsPacman works fine too. I don't have JrPacman to try it, but I have added it to the driver list so it should also work.
 

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
Hmmm, so where do I put this thing then .... actually, I guess I should do some key config files and stuff first really, before posting it :blink:
 

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
Vimacs posted on Dec 18 2005 at 04:16 PM said:
great, just great :)

oh, and put it on archive.gp2x.de , thats what it is for.
Right, I'll have to go register first and all that then. I'm just doing the key config files now.

EDIT: Damn, I'm having trouble making it pick up my modified key lists :-( I might release it as-is, and mod it later.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
Lazrhog posted on Dec 18 2005 at 03:49 PM said:
Woohoo, following snaffs xmame hacking about directions, I sooo just got pacman working on the GP2X.


woohoo :)


And Pengo works too :))))







All run at full speed (but you have to have the GP2X on its end) :-(


EDIT: MsPacman works fine too. I don't have JrPacman to try it, but I have added it to the driver list so it should also work.
Cool, what ROM versions do you need for this? Is there sound for these?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
DaveC posted on Dec 18 2005 at 06:53 PM said:
Cool, what ROM versions do you need for this? Is there sound for these?
Latest romsets are needed (V102 onwards of Mame). Yep, full sound is working.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pariah

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
105
Too awesome, dude. This is totally what I've been looking forward to. One thing I am wondering about though. I noticed that you can edit the gpe files with notepad and change the roms but that doesn't seem to affect the outcome. I've got the mspacmnf rom, which is the actual speedup hack rom, but when I make a custom gpe for it, it still runs the mspacman rom. I guess I'm not understanding how this whole thing works. BTW: Kudos on running it sideways. That was the best idea ever.

Thanks, and where can I donate?

Pariah B)

Edit: Just wanted to add, it runs so pretty, so effin' pretty. I am in love.
 

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
pariah posted on Dec 18 2005 at 08:59 PM said:
Too awesome, dude. This is totally what I've been looking forward to. One thing I am wondering about though. I noticed that you can edit the gpe files with notepad and change the roms but that doesn't seem to affect the outcome. I've got the mspacmnf rom, which is the actual speedup hack rom, but when I make a custom gpe for it, it still runs the mspacman rom. I guess I'm not understanding how this whole thing works. BTW: Kudos on running it sideways. That was the best idea ever.

Thanks, and where can I donate?

Pariah B)

Edit: Just wanted to add, it runs so pretty, so effin' pretty. I am in love.

to support all the variants, I would have to add in the driver names. Easily done, and I'll do it on the next update. Just getting the Atari driver working at the moment :D Thats about 30 games in that one .... (including starwars, asteroids, etc..). No donations to me, I am just continuing what snaff started ;)

All this will get replaced when Franxis releases his official GP2X Mame - but it gives us some interim fun.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

pariah

Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
105
Still, too awesome, brother. I'm geekin' on Ms. Pac. That's one of my favorite if not my definitive favorite ol' school game out there. Thanks.

Pariah B)
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
Lazrhog posted on Dec 18 2005 at 10:39 PM said:
pariah posted on Dec 18 2005 at 08:59 PM said:
Too awesome, dude. This is totally what I've been looking forward to. One thing I am wondering about though. I noticed that you can edit the gpe files with notepad and change the roms but that doesn't seem to affect the outcome. I've got the mspacmnf rom, which is the actual speedup hack rom, but when I make a custom gpe for it, it still runs the mspacman rom. I guess I'm not understanding how this whole thing works. BTW: Kudos on running it sideways. That was the best idea ever.

Thanks, and where can I donate?

Pariah B)

Edit: Just wanted to add, it runs so pretty, so effin' pretty. I am in love.

to support all the variants, I would have to add in the driver names. Easily done, and I'll do it on the next update. Just getting the Atari driver working at the moment :D Thats about 30 games in that one .... (including starwars, asteroids, etc..). No donations to me, I am just continuing what snaff started ;)

All this will get replaced when Franxis releases his official GP2X Mame - but it gives us some interim fun.

Hey maybe you could get the drivers like Donkey Kong series and Zaxxon, Phoenix etc to work with sound. Franxis said that his MAME will be silent still for those games which is unfortunate. If you do versions with sound then even with Franxis MAME yours will still be useful.

I am having trouble configuring the controls in the pacman games. Are there some config files that you have to set up the controls and coin/start?

Thanks for the good work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
Yeah, I think I can get those games running properly. If Xmame supports them with sound then they should run with some tweaks on the GP2X.

I'm having trouble with the config files too. There is a directory pointing to the wrong place somewhere. I'll track it down in time. For the time being you just have to config the keys every time you play - sorry. :(
 

CoinOp

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
109
Website
Visit site
Lazrhog posted on Dec 19 2005 at 03:32 AM said:
Yeah at I think I can get those games running properly. If Xmame supports them with sound then they should run with some tweaks on the GP2X.

I'm having trouble with the config files too. There is a directory pointing to the wrong place somewhere. I'll track it down in time. For the time being you just have to config the keys every time you play - sorry. :(
I've noticed you can set the controls in the input (general) section of the config. After you exit run sync.gpu and they should stay. At least it does on mine.

CoinOp
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
Lazrhog posted on Dec 19 2005 at 08:32 AM said:
Yeah, I think I can get those games running properly. If Xmame supports them with sound then they should run with some tweaks on the GP2X.

I'm having trouble with the config files too. There is a directory pointing to the wrong place somewhere. I'll track it down in time. For the time being you just have to config the keys every time you play - sorry. :(

I have been having trouble configing the keys even once. When I move the stick one way the selector moves in a different direction :blink: confusing. Then when I highlight the choice I can't seem to get it to do anything. It just goes blank for awhile. If I press a direction on the joystick nothing shows up. I fiddled with it for awhile but gave up because I wasn't getting anywhere with it. I figured I would just wait until something more intuitive is made.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CoinOp

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
109
Website
Visit site
DaveC posted on Dec 19 2005 at 07:15 PM said:
I have been having trouble configing the keys even once. When I move the stick one way the selector moves in a different direction :blink: confusing. Then when I highlight the choice I can't seem to get it to do anything. It just goes blank for awhile. If I press a direction on the joystick nothing shows up. I fiddled with it for awhile but gave up because I wasn't getting anywhere with it. I figured I would just wait until something more intuitive is made.
The UI controls are set up normally but it is a little freaky because up is left, down is right, right is up, and down is left. I fixed the user interface settings under input (general), set the movement up in player 1 controls, and finally set the coin and start buttons in other controls. Also don't forget about UI Cancel or you will have to hard reset out of each game.

Here is my \.xtiny\cfg\default.cfg
* note I set up select as UI Cancel.

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!-- This file is autogenerated; comments and unknown tags will be stripped -->
<mameconfig version="10">
    <system name="default">
        <input>
            <port type="P1_JOYSTICK_UP">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON7
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_JOYSTICK_DOWN">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON3
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_JOYSTICK_LEFT">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON1
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_JOYSTICK_RIGHT">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON5
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_BUTTON1">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON14
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_BUTTON2">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON16
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P1_START">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON9
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="START1">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON9
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="COIN1">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON12
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_CONFIGURE">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON11
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_UP">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON7
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_DOWN">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON3
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_LEFT">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON1
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_RIGHT">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON5
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_SELECT">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON14
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="UI_CANCEL">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON10
                </newseq>
            </port>
        </input>
    </system>
</mameconfig>
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Lazrhog

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
199
Ahhh, yes I knew the default cfg file was being accessed, but didn't think about puttin general keys in there ! Good job. Thanks.

I actually took the evening off to sit down and play pacman and pengo last night (rather than trying to speed up asteroids). I was also playing starwars to death - it's great fun on the gp2x - if a little harder because of no analogue controls.

:D :D :D

pacman and pengo are great !
 
Top