GP2X Irrlicht?

Minkoff

I'm a newbie when it comes to this sort of thing, so don't flame me if this is a stupid question.
Would it be possible to use Irrlicht on the GP2X (it does have software 3D and Linux support) at any sort of acceptable speed? I assume the answer is no, but it can't hurt to ask.

EDIT: Haha, "don't flame me." What a sad thing to type without thinking. :lol:

Definately not possible. It uses DirectX and .NET. If something that you know of is opensource and is programmed in C++ and SDL then it may be possible to port it to the GP2X. You'll learn :)

K0K0NUT_h3lmut posted on Oct 21 2005 at 09:16 PM said:
Definately not possible. It uses DirectX and .NET. If something that you know of is opensource and is programmed in C++ and SDL then it may be possible to port it to the GP2X. You'll learn :)
I was under the impression that both of those were just options. :blink:

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah, you know more than me about the engine. But you don't need to know what language it's written in to tell that it won't work. That wouldn't even run on a PSP. OpenGL(in a more portable form) will probably run pretty slow on the GP2X. The GP2X however will have other 3D engines. Although this engine does look pretty good. It claims to be fast. And is it ported to many languages. I guess if you downscaled it ALOT it would work. However, I just don't think it would be practical or possible.

Since it can run in linux, I would say it is possible also taking in account that it also has a software renderer as well...

(edit: which isn't finsihed.. :( )

wow, impressive:
Image13.jpg