How To Unbrick Your Wiz (Retail Wiz - V1.1.0 Firmware)

Discussion in 'I need help' started by glossywhite, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. WarmFluffyUK

    WarmFluffyUK The Big Wad Bolf.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    UK
    I thought it might be a good idea to pin this topic.
     
  2. glossywhite

    glossywhite Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Nope, that doesn't work - have you tried this?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  3. pseudonym404

    pseudonym404 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    You could try starting the terminal first (no cat), starting it afterwards might not be quick enough. CKermit has a transmit command that should be able to send the UART boot, don't know about minicom.
     
  4. glossywhite

    glossywhite Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    This whole effort is just one gigantic FAIL. Nope, didn't work, after "set line /dev/ttyUSB0" and "set speed 19200" and then "transmit UART.nb0"

    Here is the MES-DNW source code:

    SOURCE

    See what I can do, if anyone else will help?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  5. Exophase

    Exophase Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,308
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    19200? UART boot is not supposed to be 115200??

    EDIT: !! Where did you get that source code? :eek: I have some good experience writing serial interface stuff on Linux, I should be able to write something compatible.
     
  6. glossywhite

    glossywhite Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    "I has mad Googlin' skillz" ;) LOL!.

    Well if you can, you'll be the second hero in this thread... :p haha!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. Exophase

    Exophase Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,308
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    Huh, I don't know where my modified post went. Anyway, what I found was that adding some things related to serial port to system.reg made it work in Wine:

    http://wiki.jswindle.com/index.php/Wine_Registry

    Actually found this by looking at the source, though. So unless you're morally opposed to using Wine this should work, for now.

    And yes, I was able to unbrick my Wiz. Awesome. Now when someone complains about glossywhite I can at least say that it's because of him that my Wiz works. Hopefully this can fix things for x68000 too.

    I was wondering, why do your instructions say to hold the power switch down? I didn't do this because it would have been really cumbersome - figured I'd try w/o doing it first to see if it works since it wouldn't really hurt to try it again later (can't brick it worse than it is..). Worked fine without doing it.
     
  8. glossywhite

    glossywhite Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    I was told to do this - cannot remember where - it just said to hold the switch down, otherwise the console would power itself off, if inactive.

    I am very glad you have fixed your bricked Wiz - I have made a decision not to be such a hasty (and aggressive) responder to posts from now on, so hopefully my past behaviour can be forgotten.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  9. sam fisher

    sam fisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    9,446
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    If you flashed a newer firmware onto early pre-production Wiz systems they lost the ability to stay on without constantly holding the power button down. I think I have a Wiz in that condition somewhere.
     
  10. penars

    penars Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Hello folks,

    Seems like I have bricked my Wiz after updating the firmware. Anybody willing to sell (or loan!) me a serial cable so I can unbrick this thing? My skills with the soldering iron aren't that great. :(

    Thanks!
     
  11. baalim

    baalim Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Hello everybody,

    I recently bricked my dear wiz with the last firmware update.
    I wonder if someone can help me with my newly destroyed wiz or direct me to someone who's willing to repair it.

    I do hope there's a solution to bring it back to life ;)
     
  12. cwaf

    cwaf Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Maidstone, England
    The PDF file is encrypted, please can somebody give me the password? Damn, I hate that I just bricked my Wiz.
     
  13. crow_riot

    crow_riot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    .at
    take a look here, nothing should be crypted: http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/wiz.cgi?0,0,0,0,23,265
     
  14. cwaf

    cwaf Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Maidstone, England
    Thank, but this is above and beyond any technical ability I have (or more suitably, lack). I don't suppose there is any service or person I could send my Wiz to, is there?
     
  15. crow_riot

    crow_riot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,763
    Location:
    .at
    well you could contact the after sales center in germany if they unbrick it: http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?/topic/49588-as-center-opened/

    they're friendly and helpful from what is said here in the forums.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  16. RajTakhar

    RajTakhar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    549
    Location:
    Derby, United Kingdom
    Is there anyone in UK who can fix a bricked wiz
    I attempted to update to 1.2.6
    Mine now has a all-black screen
    and no amount of SD cards and switching on/off seems to do anything
    I would really like someone to fix the issue for me and would be quite willing to pay for a repair
    I am in the midlands, derby
    someone - with right skills - please PM
    raj.takhar@hp.com
     
  17. pseudonym404

    pseudonym404 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    I've been playing with this again recently, and thought it might be worth mentioning that to send the 16K of UART boot code, you simply need to write one byte at a time at 19200bps (that is, actually write the bytes at about that speed, as well as configure the port for that speed), msleep(4) between bytes seems to be sufficient.

    Also, only CfgBOOTMODE0 needs to be pulled down, my USB-serial cable currently has RTS connected to CfgBOOTMODE0 (pin 9), and DTR connected to Power_En (pin 6), so I can power cycle and choose between UART and NAND boot in software.

    EDIT: make that usleep(417), seems I was out a digit :/
    EDIT2: or do it properly and call tcdrain, although that's a fair bit slower ;)
     
  18. zaba

    zaba Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Any retailer that fixes bricked Wiz??
     
  19. Slick Butter

    Slick Butter Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I guess this place is kind of dead, but I just received a Wiz as a gift, and it crashed while updating. Now it boots to only a black screen. How can I fix this?
     
  20. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,233
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Have you got the guide from the OP of this topic? Unfortunately, the sendspace link is dead (I assume), but sbock uploaded it to the filebase, and it's still there (I checked that):
    http://dl.openhandhelds.org/cgi-bin/wiz.cgi?0,0,0,0,23,265

    It's quite an involved process, but that does tend to inspire confidence to me.
     
    Slick Butter likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...