How free is the OpenPandora?

mattl

Still Fresh
Hey,

I'm an editor at Defective by Design and we've been asked to include the OpenPandora in our list of devices we can recommend to people.

We have some pretty strict guidelines for hardware, making it by far the hardest thing for us to evaluate.

Can someone give me a rundown of any proprietary software included with the device as standard, including binary kernel modules, binary drivers or firmware that is loaded at runtime, as well as applications or plugins such as Skype, Flash, etc.

If such proprietary software is included, as it is with many devices, please let me know if such software is essential to the use of the device or just something which is required for a particular task, such as Wifi or 3D graphics accelleration.

Thanks,

matt

Afaik, WiFi and accelerated GPU drivers are the only non-free blobs included. Non-free codecs etc. are not distributed with the stock firmware. It has a Open Source boot loader that allows booting other linux distributions, so it's possible to make it run a system without these blobs. The Wifi-blob can be avoided with one of those cheap tiny USB WiFi-sticks from DX.

Firmware-devs will have to confirm this though.

Last edited by a moderator:
Neither the wifi nor nub drivers are proprietary. The firmware on the nubs and the wifi chip themselves, however, are proprietary. There's actually no (simple) way to change the firmware on the nubs, though I believe MWeston does have the code and could rebuild it for future Pandoras if he had to. Yes, the nubs have firmware. The driver for the nubs was never proprietary either, it's just custom, and the driver for the wifi which was originally closed source was upgraded to an open source one about a year ago (I could be wrong about the time frame).

The only binary blob in the kernel that I'm aware of is for the GPU.