How Can An Amateur Get Started?

sabrecheeky

Hello!

I am frustrated and irritated!

I am going to get a pandora through the post at some point between today and 2015 (estimates vary) and have always wanted to write a game for it since ordering it. I am an amateur computer user, know my way around but no professional training. I am also quite old.

I have written games in the past for my Spectrum and Amiga - and to do this you needed just a few things; A graphics package for creating sprites/tiles and a programming language. Perhaps an audio editor/mixer too, and often a map editor.

I believe nowadays this is called a 'tool chain' and the computer it is on is called an 'integrated development environment'. I am learning some things!

In the past this has been simple. I used Basic with a bit of assembler on my Spectrum, and Blitz Basic on my Amiga. It has occurred to me that Basic and Linux do not mix, some snob value going on apparently... so have been messing about with python and pygame. At the end of the day, you just need logic and flow functions and the ability to blit from one image to another to make any 2D game. I don't find Python is as nice to use some of the Basics I have used but never mind - beggars and choosers and all that.

Now sprite editing and map making. I have hunted the internet expecting to find hundreds of solutions to this, and it is a nightmare. Nothing seems to be anywhere near as simple and intuitive as good old DPaint on my miggy, and there were lots of good map editors that exported nice simple binary files. I really do think that the best bet would be for me to sort out E-UAE on my computer again and use these old programs, but surely in the last twenty years someone has come up with similar and better packages?!?