Help Finty Build A Pc

finty

what is this
Website
Visit site
Ok, first ever build, I'm just going to post here when I have a dumbass question (as per usual, I hear some of you say).

Is this ok for a CPU?

I want to play games, HL2, Halo and eventually Halo2, would that CPU be good for that?

I'm also torn between a 6600gt and a 6800. Is there much differance?

Should be fine, I have one in my current build and it plays Doom3 better then my XP2100+ with the same components.

I go for the 6600GT since I have no need to run games at stupid high resolutions of 1280+.. make sure you get the right card for your mother board (AGP or PCI-E)

YEah the CPU will be fine in fact it's probably better than what you need to get, i have an

AMD Athlon XP 2400+
1024MB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 5700 LE
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS

and i can run HL2 max settings and 1024x768 because the crosshair gets too small on the hiher res, Halo almost high but resolution can only be 1024x768 on single player and 800x600 (Gearbox ported the game shitty and made it almost incompadable with every graphics card and runs really laggy unless you have a great graphics card which the 6600GT will do)

There is little difference between the 6600GT and 6800 other than the refresh rates of the resolutions and the memory it has. so it;s really a matter of preference whether you want to save money or you want to save refresh rate.

i have a
a64 3500+
a 6600gt
1gb ram
at a nforce4-sli board (a8n-sli)

and i can run hl2 with evrything on max at 1024*768 with 8*aa and 16*af

i have a
a64 3500+
a 6600gt
1gb ram
at a nforce4-sli board (a8n-sli)

and i can run hl2 with evrything on max at 1024*768 with 8*aa and 16*af

but the point i was trying to make is that you don;t need a top of the line computer... sure it'd be nice but you don't need it right away.

Last edited by a moderator: