Have you been that guy?

diligentcircle

Website
onpon4.github.io
I saw one of those threads related to someone who was being a dick and was banned for it. Rightfully so, I'm sure. It made me curious, though: has anyone else here been that guy? You know, the annoying, pretentious, immature dick on a forum?

I was that guy on one forum, the SCDB, under the username "jaychant", and it rightfully led to a permaban. More importantly, it rightfully led me to be very much hated by that particular part of the Star Control fan community (which sucks, because it's the biggest one now). My last postings were in this thread, and I must say I made some of the most embarrassing posts I've ever made there. Some of my stupid ramblings included claiming that I was "not a nerd!!!" because I "don't get as" in school (that's an actual quote; I was referring to the letter, i.e. the school grade), claiming I was "the sh!t" at a children's card game that I was a noob at (again, actual quote), and in the end, basically claiming "I don't care about the SCDB" and practically asking to be permabanned.

I think I was 14 at the time, which can kind of explain it. Or maybe it was demon possession. Whatever it was, I definitely had horrible delusions of grandeur and acted quite immaturely.

One thing that's kind of interesting to note: I always acted immature on the SCDB. What's really funny (and embarrassing) is that when I joined, the community was incredibly inactive, so when I became one of the most frequent posters there, I started viewing myself as the most important member in the community. Again, delusions of grandeur on a horrible scale.

This is all so embarrassing that I never use the username "jaychant" any more.

So, anyone else have crazy stories like this to tell? Anything even close to my 14-year-old stupidity? :lol:

Last edited by a moderator:
Yep, I've been that third wheel on many outings with my friends, I hate being 'that guy...'

Oh wait, wrong topic :p