1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Gstreamer-ti

Discussion in 'NEON / DSP' started by klaxonn, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Hello,


    I've compiled the gstream plugin which use the DSP of the Pandora. As i don't have a Pandora, i didn't test the modules and the plugin.


    You need to install all packages contained in the archive.


    To start this : /usr/share/ti/gst/omap3530/loadmodules.sh


    It may be necessary to modify the kernel arguments to avoid conflicts.


    You can have more explications here : http://jumpnowtek.co...mstix&Itemid=67


    You can find some examples to test the gstreamer plugin : http://processors.wi...eamer_Pipelines


    Codecs included : High Efficiency AAC decoder, Low Delay AAC decoder, MP3 decoder, WMA9 decoder, h264 encoder, h264 decoder, MPEG2 decoder, MPEG4 decoder, MPEG4 encoder, JPEG decoder,


    Bye.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 7, 2012
  2. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    18,382
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Nice one.


    AFAIK, the DSP requires the kernel to have some memory reserved as well, so these modules will probably not work out of the box.


    But it's something to work on, thanks :)
     
  3. ensoniq2k

    ensoniq2k Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    With the memory upgrade on the german units the memory reserve is no problem. In my opinion this is one of the main things that would make the device even more awesome. Video decoding with almost no cpu usage would be great and could enhance the battery life.
     
  4. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Yes, you must add the mem arguments with the right values to u-boot.
     
  5. sepp256

    sepp256 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Is it possible to add a boot-time option to reserve the memory for DSP? For instance, if you hold down a certain button on boot?
     
  6. Darkknight512

    Darkknight512 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Canada
    I was just about to say this, that would be very nice.
     
  7. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Somebody should get it running at all and then we can start thinking about things like boot options. Currently it's possible to set it using boot.txt/autoboot.txt .
     
  8. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    It works the same way for the NAND ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2012
  9. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    Lithuania
    What do you mean?


    You can change kernel arguments and still boot from NAND with boot.txt/autoboot.txt , like:



    Code:
    
    setenv bootargs ubi.mtd=4 ubi.mtd=3 root=ubi0:rootfs rw vram=6272K omapfb.vram=0:3000K <additional args here>
    
    
     
  10. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    I wasn't sure that NAND used a boot.txt/autoboot.txt file to boot too.


    Thanks.
     
  11. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Updated with a boot.txt.
     
  12. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    UK
    Hmmm installing these packages put the boot.txt on the nand itself.


    so I moved it to my SD restarted with R Button held,


    booted from SD1


    and... it drops me back to boot menu.


    So from boot menu I choose to boot from nand and:

     
  13. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Yes, these packages are supposed to be installed on the nand for now.


    I don't know the right kernel arguments for booting from the nand, i used the ones from notaz.


    Maybe i forgot something.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2012
  14. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    UK
    I got it to boot!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2012
  15. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    How did you do it ?


    What dmesg say ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2012
  16. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    UK
    Using this as a reference: http://pandorawiki.org/Debian_On_SD#Flashing_the_Image


    I modified the boot.txt


    The boot.txt is on the SD card and launched from the RButton boot menu.


    I ran


    sudo /usr/share/ti/gst/omap3530/loadmodules.sh


    I get this in console:


    and dmesg:

     
  17. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks !


    Could you retry with these packages : http://dl.free.fr/mRJb3ElcB


    I've modified the boot.txt according the link you gave. So you just have to copy boot.txt on SD.
     
  18. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    UK
    Same problem!


    also you need to put "rootfstype=ubifs" in the boot txt :)


    Well I dunno if you NEED to but that's the only difference I see in your boot.txt and mine.
     
  19. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Can you do dmesg ?
     
  20. PokeParadox

    PokeParadox Founder of Pirate Games - Penjin Coder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    UK
    4.3.3: no symbol version for struct_module
     

Share This Page