Gpadvance Speed

Discussion in 'GP Advance' started by QualGuard, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. QualGuard

    QualGuard Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    why is the GPAdvance Speed so Slow, They should work on getting better speed. GP32 is GBAX 166 MHZ. and Why is the default speed 180 MHZ. Commerical Games Tested Namco Museun Works, and Pac-Man Collection Works, But Both Games are Slow, Now that we have some commercail games running, next we should work on a speed increse, sound can be worked on later.
     
    Tags:
  2. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    the games i've played are fast

    and what does that mean?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  3. BaDToaD

    BaDToaD "Very" Old Timer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,452
    Location:
    UK
    Are you part of the project then?

    :blink:
     
  4. diablo2

    diablo2 Virtual Boy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,956
    Location:
    The A
    what?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  5. mattmagoo

    mattmagoo OFFICIAL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Sussex, England
    EDIT:I just had to get that off my chest
     
  6. mth411

    mth411 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    510
    It is the different supports that are not yet optomized is my guess. Play the original bust a move (not super bust a move), and you will have a hard time playing it on 66MHz with fs0 with fullscreen.

    As the libraries mature, they will also get optomized, right now Im guessing a lot of code is "just working".

    Also, at this rate, who can complain, with hourly updates.
     
  7. RomHacker316

    RomHacker316 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    I think he means that the GP32s sold at GBAX can get 166Mhz(the modded ones anyway) so why is the emu clocked higher than that. At least thats what I think he means. I personally think they're doing a great job with the emu and would love for them to keep at it. I think what they're trying to do is get all the features in before they start going for speed. I hope Yoyo sees that they put in dynamic loading that way maybe he can add a feature like that into OSnes9x so we can play large ROMs in the new version with trans. enabled.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  8. BaDToaD

    BaDToaD "Very" Old Timer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,452
    Location:
    UK
    Use a bit of common sense diablo2 the comment was aimed at the topic starter who mentions "we" should do this and "we" should do that as if he's part of the project hence the sarcasm.
     
  9. moz

    moz load *,8,1

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,804
    tis slow because the emulator is in its infancy stages, if they made it fast you'd complain that it had low compatibility and then when sound was implemented youd complain that the sound slowed down the software.

    Its great that it runs at all, you havent mentioned the great work that has been done such as enabling roms over 4MB to be dynamically accessed.

    I would imagine they want to get THIER software to be compatible before optimizing it.

    you want full speed GBA games- go buy a GBA

    Keep up the good work GPadv team :D im looking forward to seeing the fruits of your labor in 12 months time


    ******sprayed water on my flames*************
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  10. Aaaaaaaa

    Aaaaaaaa Guest

    And what part have u played in the coding?

    Have you even contributed?

    No?

    Dont make demands then!



    :ph34r:

    This is not a flame...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  11. Dozer

    Dozer Efram the retarded rabbit

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,034
    Location:
    Exeter
    It's taken years to get this far so be greatful. It's pretty obvious it's very new software and that it's being worked on a lot. Still don't count on it ever being full speed.

    And well done people on not flaming too much :D.
     
  12. khephren

    khephren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    593
    Location:
    UK
    There's a lot of cutting edge tech here that you don't seem to understand- Running CPU commands direct (rather than emulating), and spooling data to allow for bigger rom sizes than ram (will will have ramifications for future emulation projects i'm sure). I'm surprised it works at all. If you can code than join in then you can make demands.
    You should think carefully before coming on here and criticising peoples hard work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  13. boblibob

    boblibob Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    Tamworth
    ima use this to congratulate on the GPadv Team on the amazing work they have done in such a short time
    *cheers*
    your doing an amazing job , you seeem prett dam amazing in my eyes at the moment , just dont set up a religion , i'd be to tempted to join ;)

    GPADV TEAM ARE AMAZING PEOPLE
     

Share This Page

Loading...