Emulator brings x86 Linux apps to ARM devices


traylorpark

Active Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
579
I know I'm way out of my league here and have nothing of value to contribute ... BUT ... earlier on I saw mention of Dwarf Fortress ;) If portable Dwarf Fortress were a reality (no matter how slow) my life would be complete.
 

lunixbochs

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
742
I made it through DF worldgen on my Pandora with ExaGear. The actual gameplay was slow, but really not as bad as I expected.
 

traylorpark

Active Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
579
oooh! did you change the size of the embark site? If you make it really small, that might help the FPS
 

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
871
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
Thanks a lot for your install scripts dimag0g, they worked pretty well.

But since I've messed up a bit my exagear ubuntu image, I'd like to restart with a clean install. Is it self-contained and can I just delete the existing install and start over, or is there something else I should do?
 

dimag0g

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
608
Location
Strasbourg, France
Thanks a lot for your install scripts dimag0g, they worked pretty well.

But since I've messed up a bit my exagear ubuntu image, I'd like to restart with a clean install. Is it self-contained and can I just delete the existing install and start over, or is there something else I should do?
AFAIK you can just remove the image directory and start over. And I think it's time I make a PND of those install scripts, so that the latest version is always accessible and people don't miss updates. (I have a working sudo in exagear now, for example)
 

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
871
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
You mean it's normal the sudo doesn't work? I thought it was because of the changes I had done in the image...
 

dimag0g

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
608
Location
Strasbourg, France
Yes, but I have recently found a way to make sudo work inside exagear. I will post new install scripts sometime next week.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
871
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
I've noticed that the .wine directory wasn't in the usr directory of exagear's ubuntu image as I expected, but in the Pandora's usr directory on the NAND. I guess I can fix that by changing the WINEPREFIX, but is there a way (other than installing the Pandora OS on the SD Card) to generally get Exagear to not use the NAND?
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
I've noticed that the .wine directory wasn't in the usr directory of exagear's ubuntu image as I expected, but in the Pandora's usr directory on the NAND. I guess I can fix that by changing the WINEPREFIX, but is there a way (other than installing the Pandora OS on the SD Card) to generally get Exagear to not use the NAND?
If it respects the $HOME variable, the way most PNDs fix it is by simply exporting "HOME=/mnt/utmp/pnd_name"
 

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
871
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
@WizardStan: Ok thanks, is there a drawback to setting the default $HOME variable of my Pandora to some place on my SD Card? (apart from the fact that when I remove my SD Card I lose the data)
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
If you set it in a start script, only things called by that script will be effected, and once the script ends it goes back to being the way it was. There shouldn't be any side effects to anything outside of Exegear. If anything else writes to $HOME, like desktop configs and stuff, it will still go to the NAND as it should.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,837
I think the problem is with the guest image, I believe the x86 ubuntu side of things uses the user's home directory instead of one inside the image. I found this out quickly as I filled my nand quickly as I installed something thinking the hidden .wine directory was on the SD card I was working with.
 

ElPoco

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
871
Age
36
Location
Paris, France
@WizardStan: Thanks, I'll probably do that

@TrashyMG: Yep, same here. 

I've tried installing a windows gog game with the gog installer with wine, but I couldn't get it to work. No matter what I tried, it always told me "Unable to execute file in the temporary directory. Setup aborted." At first I thought it was because it was trying to access a temp folder in a place where it didn't have access, but even after starting exagear with sudo exagear, and setting up wine for root (.wine folder belonging to root), I still get the same message. Anybody has any idea where that can come from?
 
Top