Concerns Regarding Pyra Branding

purplegoat

Still Fresh
Hi Guys,

I realize that's an inflammatory title but I feel like someone needs to say this! I know it's supposed to be open sourced and the community picked the name, logo, etc. but seriously. I was thinking about it earlier and I'm already on the fence about the Pyra (price) and the branding is so bad I'm leaning toward not getting it. When I realized the branding was THAT bad I realized I needed to say something.

Pyra does not roll off the tongue and the logo is poorly designed (apologies to the designer). The font is bad and spaced incorrectly!

I want to also add that I did not own a Pandora but I absolutely loved my GP2X. I have not been an active member of this board but I spent countless hours on GP32X. I don't come to flame but because I want to better a project that I really appreciate. 

I am a professional artist and wanted to help with the logos but became too busy with my job at the time. I'm not as busy now and I wanted to see this if this conversation can still be had and we can all have an elegant handheld experience.

I know this is probably well overstepping my bounds but EvilDragon, if you are curious and would like to throw some ideas at me for something you might prefer, I'd be happy do a couple passes to help out. I'm attaching a little badge I made from the picture at the top of the forum to show how I feel even the existing information could be used better (notice the change in spacing)

Well wishes to everyone here. TelcoLou smack me if I'm out of line!!

EDIT: I've removed the original badge and attached my formal suggestion.

pyralogore5.png

Last edited by a moderator:
I prefer pronouncing it phonetically as it is written, not the English way. Any is fine, and if you can find something that suits you, thats all the better.