1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Code::Blocks with C/C++ Compiler

Discussion in 'C /C ++' started by ptitSeb, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb : I have a little question regarding floating point operations and default CFLAGS in Code::Blocks.

    I compiled an application (some web browser) on the Pandora with your beta Code::Blocks package.

    That application uses floating point operations at some point (I didn't know that when I first tried to compile it, but the author later told me...).

    For some reasons, I didn't use any of the CFLAGS you set by default in Code::Blocks:
    Now, that application refuses to start.

    Was it to be expected ? I.e, what's GCC default behaviour on ARM when dealing with floating point operations ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  2. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    default should work, I assume (not 100% sure) it will default to "soft" abi (i.e. 100% emulated floating point).
    Only case where it will not start if it's compile with "hard" abi (-mfloat-abi=hard).

    What's the error message you have at start ?
     
  3. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,697
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi @ptitSeb :)
    That's one of the issues I have with this piece of software: it fails completely in silence...
    I'll try to recompile it again with all the default flags available in Code::Blocks, see if it changes anything.

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  4. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,799
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Anything in dmesg? If not, I suspect it might be time to crack out the debugger, and see if you can breakpoint it anywhere before the crash.
     
  5. cador

    cador Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    I've tried to download codeblocks.pnd but instead of it being 2.5 GB like the downloader in Chrome or FireFox says it's supposed to be, it only downloads about 1.3 GB of it or so (I've tried this at least 10 times in both web browsers).

    And when I try to install the pnd, nothing happens.

    Are there special instructions on how to install this? I think it would be very useful to have a portable dev environment.
     
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Try to download the beta there: https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/ptitsebs-beta-lair.77439/ maybe it will download fully?
     
  7. b_o_b

    b_o_b Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    I had a similar issue (I did get a failed download warning) and it looked like a time out problem from the servers side. After two tries I used wget to download the file. No problems then and I assume any download manager will help in that case.
     
  8. cador

    cador Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks. While I was able to download it completely from there, nothing happens when I copy it to the menu folder on the SD card.

    Is there a minimum amount of space required for it to install? (admittedly, I don't have much space left on the SD card once I copy the PND file there -- a few hundred MB).
    --- Double Post Merged, Dec 2, 2016, Original Post Date: Dec 2, 2016 ---
    I tried wget and it actually did download the entire 2.5 GB PND file. I'll get a bigger SD card and see if this one works.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The pnd is more than 2GB, so you need a recent firmware for it to register. Are you up-to-date?
     
  10. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    9,660
    I'm up to the latest firmware, however downloading through PNDManager It stopped at 2GB still, I thought this was something that was fixed.
     
  11. cador

    cador Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    According to my System Info, I have SuperZaxxon R1.72

    Is this the latest one?
     
  12. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Not at all.
    IIRC, you need 1.75 update 6.
     
  13. cador

    cador Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Thank you! Upgrading the firmware did the trick. Never used Code Blocks before, but I'm familiar with MS Visual Studio.
     
  14. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    @cador : the codeblocks PND also have a command line mode, with most standard linux compile tools, and editor like VIM and EMACS now also.
     
  15. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Spain
    Some libs that would be great to have updated on next release:

    libpng 1.6.26
    GMP 6.1.1
    Nettle 3.3
    Openssl 1.0.2j
    Sqlite 3.15.2
    Game Music Emu 0.6.1
    Wavpack 5.0.0
    Taglib 1.11.1
    Opus 1.1.3
    Poppler 0.50
    Webkitgtk2 2.4.11
    QT 5.7.1

    I did test Qupzilla with my desktop PC with newer QT, and so far no crashes.
     
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Wow, there are some big ones, like Webkitgtk2 and Qt 5.7.1
     
  17. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Spain
    If you can update the little ones, and release Codeblocks PND, it would be enough, like a christmas present, ;)

    But Webkitgtk2 needs a recompilation with new libs, at least to avoid duplicated ones and segfaults with fancy plugin on Claws mail.
     
    Farox likes this.
  18. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ok, tracking here the status of the compile...

    libpng 1.6.26 => done (with apng support)
    GMP 6.1.1 => done (6.1.2 in fact)
    Nettle 3.3 => done
    Openssl 1.0.2j => done
    Sqlite 3.15.2 => done
    Game Music Emu 0.6.1 => done (latest from git)
    Wavpack 5.0.0 => done (latest from git)
    Taglib 1.11.1 => done (latest grom git)
    Opus 1.1.3 => done
    Poppler 0.50 => done
    Webkitgtk2 2.4.11 => Webkitgtk 2.4.11 only, webkitgtk2 needs gtk3 so I have skiped it for now
    QT 5.7.1 => will probably be postponed to next pnd
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
    Farox and canseco like this.
  19. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,183
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Mmmm, Webkitgtk2 .2.4.11 needs a lot of dependancies...
    Now it complains for
    Code:
    configure: error: Package requirements (
            gstreamer-1.0 >= 1.0.3
            gstreamer-plugins-base-1.0 >= 1.0.3
            gstreamer-app-1.0
            gstreamer-audio-1.0,
            gstreamer-fft-1.0,
            gstreamer-base-1.0,
            gstreamer-pbutils-1.0,
            gstreamer-video-1.0) were not met:
    
    So that will take some time probably (if it's doable) :(
     
  20. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    Spain
    I see it would cause too much delay, i can wait for them on later Codeblocks releases.

    Thanks for trying and keep up the good work, ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...