Before I Take The Plunge...

semicolon

Still Fresh
Website
www.thehappyplanets.com
Hi there,
As I posted recently in the XGP subforum, I've been eying the GP2X since a few months before it was released in the us- I thought it was an incredible idea, exciting product, but thought it would be a huge flop and wasn't keen on the joystick.

This week I looked back into it and boy was I wrong! The GP2X community is thriving! Emulators are running at wonderful speeds and the quality of homebrew apps and interpreters coming out are fantastic.

I've decided to not wait for the XGP Mini and take the plunge and purchase the GP2X.
My two big questions before this possible purchase are:

1. Can you please tell me more about the available D-Pad mods?
I am really (really!) turned off by the joystick. I've been reading that some forum members are doing mods to put a d-pad in the gp2x. I'm hoping for more information on those, where to obtain them (or send the unit to have installed, or even more desirable- purchase a new unit pre-modded), and the quality of the mod- preferably some pictures?

2. Price.
I'm a bit leery of spending $190 USD + Shipping + SD card from gp2xstore.com. Can anyone recommend me a good place to make this purchase? (Read, Good = cheapest mk2 unit from a trustworthy vendor) OR Is anyone selling / know a better place than eBay to find a used mk2 unit?

Thanks!
I appreciate any input and am very excited to become a member of the gp2x community :)

welcome to the community!!

1. dunno

2.play-asia.com
find coupon codes first for $15 off
shipping is expensive but 2x is 170 (shipping about 30)
buy the sd card a fry's electronics, look for ads, you can find cards as cheap as:
1gb: $5
2gb:$20
4gb:$55
:D :D
have fun

purple_goat

purple_goat posted on Dec 19 2006 at 06:00 PM said:
2.play-asia.com
find coupon codes first for $15 off